US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. U-17 WNT Comes Together for Training Camp and Two Friendlies Against China U-18s

CHICAGO (Aug. 9, 2010) -- The U.S. U-17 Women’s National Team will come together for a week-long training camp in Sunrise, Fla., from Aug. 14-21 during which the squad will play two exhibitions against China’s U-18 Women’s National Team. Those matches will take play on Aug. 18 and 20. Mike Dickey has called up 24 players for the camp, the core of which represented the USA during its CONCACAF qualifying campaign that saw the young Americans outscore its opponents 38-0 over five games, but due to a penalty kick loss in the semifinal, did not advance to this fall’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Trinidad & Tobago. Eleven players who were on the USA’s CONCACAF qualifying team will be at camp, including goalkeeper Bryane Heaberlin, who has garnered national media attention of late for her non-profit foundation that raised money to bring the Haitian U-17 Women’s National Team to the United States a few weeks ago to participate in a tournament at the Disney Wide World of Sports complex. The USA defeated Haiti 9-0 during qualifying, but Heaberlin was touched by the plight of the Haitian players after the devastating earthquake that rocked their country and pledged to do something about it. Heaberlin’s work was featured on the Aug. 3 edition of ESPN’s E:60. The roster also includes 2010 Parade Girl’s Soccer Player of the Year Morgan Brian, central defender Abby Dahlkemper, as well as top attackers Kaysie Clark out of Missouri and the team’s leading scorer this year, forward Lindsey Horan out of Colorado.

U.S. U-17 WNT Roster By Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Bryane Heaberlin (Clearwater Chargers; St. Petersburgh, Fla.), McKenzie Karas (Premier ’95 Black; Las Vegas, Nev.), Abby Smith (Dallas Texans; Dallas, Texas)
DEFENDERS (7): Stephanie Amack (Mustang Blast; Pleasanton, Calif.), Danielle Colaprico (PDA; Freehold, N.J.), Abby Dahlkemper (MVLA Avalanche; Menlo Park, Calif.), Laura Liedle (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Katie Naughton (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Cari Roccaro (Albertson Fury; East Islip, N.Y.), Maya Theuer (San Diego Surf; Carlsbad, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (9): Morgan Brian (Ponte Vedra Storm; St. Simons Island, Ga), Kaysie Clark (KC Select Scream; Liberty, Mo.), Alex Doll (Bethesda SC; Bethesda, Md), Ashley Meier (Cleveland Whitecaps; Strongsville, Ohio), Reilly Parker (Mustang Blast; Danville, Calif.), Ashley Spivey (Baltimore Bays; Baltimore, Md.), Kaili Torres (Ponte Vedra Storm; Orange Park, Fla.), Haley Washburn (San Juan SC; Folsom, Calif.), Danielle Weatherholt (So Cal Blues; Capistrano Beach, Calif.)
FORWARDS (5): Alesha Blair (De Anza Force; Pleasanton, Calif.), Jamia Fields (Real So Cal; Alta Loma, Calif.), Lindsey Horan (Colorado Rush; Golden, Colo.), Kodi Lavrusky (Legends FC; Yucaipa, Calif.), Kristen McNabb (PDA; Montville, N.J.)