US SoccerUS Soccer
News

U.S. vs. Costa Rica Gold Cup Final Live on Univision on Saturday at 3 p.m. ET


CHICAGO (Friday, February 1, 2002) - A semifinal victory in penalty kicks over defending Gold Cup champs Canada late Wednesday night guided the United States into the Gold Cup final for the fourth time in U.S. Soccer history.  Fans of the U.S. Soccer have the chance to catch the U.S. - Costa Rica final LIVE from the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., on Spanish-language channel Univision at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT on Saturday.  The U.S. will be trying to take home the Gold Cup trophy for just the second time ever, previously winning the regional tournament in 1991.

The U.S. hammered Canada in a semifinal that produced a total of 46 shots before going to penalty kicks.  U.S. goalkeeper Kasey Keller made two clutch saves during the penalty shootout and the U.S. converted each of their first four penalty attempts to advance to the final to face Costa Rica, who topped the Korea Republic 3-1 in the other semifinal on Wednesday night.  The U.S. - Canada match will be re-broadcast on Fox Sports World tonight (Friday, Feb. 1) at 11 p.m. ET.  Following is a complete schedule of the remaining televised Gold Cup matches.

2002 GOLD CUP TELEVISION SCHEDULE

Date / Game / TV Information
Friday, Feb. 1 / U.S. vs. Canada (Semifinal) / Delayed on Fox Sports World at 11 p.m. ET (8 p.m. PT)
Saturday, Feb. 2 / Korea vs. Canada (3rd Place) / Live on Closed Circuit at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) - call 800-897-8181 for info
Saturday, Feb. 2 / U.S. vs. Costa Rica (Final) / Live on Univision at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT)
Sunday, Feb. 3 / Korea vs. Canada (3rd Place) / Delayed on Fox Sports World at 11 p.m. ET (8 p.m. PT)
Monday, Feb. 4 / U.S. vs. Costa Rica (Final) / Delayed on Fox Sports World at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)

×