Hall of Fame Coach Ron Newman Passes Aged 82

CHICAGO (Aug. 27, 2018) – National Soccer Hall of Fame coach Ron Newman, who accrued a 753-296-27 record over a 30-year-career, passed today, in at his Florida home; he was 82.

Newman came to the United States from England in 1967 to pay for the Atlanta Chiefs of the old North American Soccer League (NASL) after a 13-year playing career in England with Portsmouth, Leyton Orient, Crystal Palace and Gillingham. In 1969, his coaching career began when he was made a player coach with the Dallas Tornado. Newman would go on to earn the NASL Coach of the Year award three times — 1971, 1977 and 1984.

The longest and most successful spell of his coaching career occurred between 1980 and 1993 when he led the NASL’s San Diego Sockers from the outdoor fields through the league’s transition to an indoor competition and also the team’s migration away from NASL to the Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL). During that span, Newman guided the Sockers to NASL indoor championships in 1981-82, ’83-84 and MISL titles in 82-83 as well as seven of the next eight seasons, missing out only in 1986-87.

His head coaching tenure also saw him take the reins of the Los Angeles Skyhawks – with whom he won an American Soccer League title in 1976 – Fort Lauderdale Strikers, Miami Americans, Arizona Sandsharks and, in yet another piece of American soccer history, the Kansas City Wizards who made him the first head coach of a team in Major League Soccer (MLS) in 1995.

He is one of only three coaches to win both NASL outdoor and indoor championships as well as the only coach to win both an NASL and ASL title.

Born January 19, 1936 in Fareham, England, Newman was a “players’ coach” known for his showmanship, ability to recruit players and passion for the beautiful game. He retired from coaching in 1999 after being inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 1992. He is also an inductee of the San Diego Hall of Champions, U.S. Indoor Soccer Hall of Fame, Atlanta Hall of Fame, USL Hall of Fame and the Dallas Walk of Fame.