U.S. Soccer President Cindy Parlow Cone
Grey Chevron BackgroundGrey Chevron Background


U.S. Soccer President Cindy Parlow ConeU.S. Soccer’s Membership elected Cindy Parlow Cone to a four-year term as U.S. Soccer Vice President during the National Council Meeting at the Federation’s 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Nashville. She assumed the role of U.S. Soccer President on March 13 after Carlos Cordeiro resigned the position. Parlow Cone will serve in the role until the 2021 U.S. Soccer AGM when an election will be held to fill the remainder of the current term which is up in 2022. 

U.S. Soccer's first woman president, Parlow Cone played for the U.S. Women’s National Team from 1996-2004 and was a member of the historic 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup championship team. She also won two Olympic gold medals (1996, 2004) in a career that spanned 158 caps and saw her score 75 international goals, which is eighth all-time in U.S. history. Werner Fricker, who was U.S. Soccer President from 1984-1990, played for the U.S. Men’s National Team between 1963-1967.

During the past 20 years, she has served on U.S. Soccer’s Referee Committee, Medical Advisory Committee, Appeals Committee and the Athletes’ Council as well as more recently with U.S. Soccer’s Youth Task Force.

Inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2018, Parlow Cone was a four-time All-American at the University of North Carolina and was on teams that won three NCAA titles. She was also the first head coach to win a National Women’s Soccer League championship, guiding Portland Thorns FC to the title in 2013 during the league’s inaugural season. She currently works with the North Carolina FC Youth program as the Girls’ Director of Coaching for the Durham/Chapel Hill teams. 

She was elected as Vice President of U.S. Soccer in February of 2019 at the U.S. Soccer Annual General Meeting serving in the position for a year, completing the term that was vacated by Cordeiro when he was elected as president in 2018. Parlow Cone then was re-elected to a full, four-year VP term at the 2020 AGM this past February. With her ascension to the presidency, the office of the Vice President will remain vacant until an election is held to fill the position.