Werner Fricker Builder award

Werner Fricker Builder Award



The Werner Fricker Builder Award is the top honor that can be bestowed upon an individual or individuals by the United States Soccer Federation. The award is named after the late U.S. Soccer President Werner J. Fricker, who was honored posthumously with the inaugural award in 2002, with his son Werner Jr., accepting the award on his behalf.
Read about past winners of the Werner Fricker Award.

Werner Fricker HS.jpg
Werner J. Fricker


    Each year, the U.S. Soccer President appoints a selection committee to review the nominations and select a winner. The selection committee appointees are comprised of various representatives of U.S. Soccer and past award winners. The award criteria (see below) was amended in 2011 by the Werner Fricker Sr. Memorial Award Task Force. 


    The nomination and consideration process takes place annually with a maximum of one award given each year; however, the Selection Committee is not required to bestow the award annually. The nomination process is open to anyone who wishes to submit a nominee. All nominees must meet the following criteria in order to be considered for the award.

    Eligibility Criteria:

    In order to be eligible an individual must meet the following criteria:

    • Nominees can be an individual or group of individuals who is or are living or deceased.
    • Nominees must have dedicated a minimum 20 years of service to the sport of soccer.
      • For athletes, playing career can count towards 20 years of service but nominee must have gone on to contribute to the sport in another capacity.
    • Service must stand out and distinguish the nominee(s) from others serving in the same capacity.
    • Nominee(s) must have created or fostered programs or innovations that outlast their own active involvement in the sport.
    • Nominee’s work has had a demonstrable impact on advancing the sport of soccer at the national level.

    Nominations information for the 2019 Werner Fricker Builder Award will be posted in the coming months.

    • Download: Werner Fricker Nomination Form

    All nominations must be received via mail or e-mail. Any questions or nominations may be sent to hsyreggelas@ussoccer.org