U.S. Beach Soccer National Team Names 12 Players For 2015 CONCACAF Beach Championship

Defending Champion USA will face Antigua & Barbuda on March 28, Barbados on March 30 and the Bahamas on March 31 in El Salvador.

CHICAGO (March 23, 2015) – U.S. Beach Soccer National Team head coach Eddie Soto has named a 12-player roster for the 2015 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship, running from March 28-April 4 in Estadio de Fútbol de Playa Costa del Sol in San Salvador, El Salvador.

Seven of the 12 players on the roster were part of the team that won the 2013 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship in the Bahamas and qualified the USA for the 2013 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Tahiti. At the 2013 World Cup, the U.S. lost its first two group matches and won the third, but finished in third place in its group and was unable to advance to the knockout stage.

All 12 players have been part of a U.S. Soccer Beach National Team before.

The U.S. will open Group C play against Antigua & Barbuda on March 28 at 7:45 p.m. ET, take on Barbados on March 30 at 9 p.m. ET, and play the Bahamas on March 31 at 9 p.m. ET. For game results and updates visit ussoccer.com or follow on Twitter @ussoccer

For the first time in its history, the tournament will feature a record 16 nations vying for two qualifying spots for the 2015 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Portugal from July 9-19.

GOALKEEPERS (2): Aldo Balsano (Miami United; Miami, Fla.), Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers; Fallbrook, Calif.).
DEFENDERS (4): Harry Abraham (SD Fusion; San Diego, Calif.), Chris Cummings (UCLA; Chatsworth, Calif.), Jason Santos (California Davis; Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.), Lewie Valentine (US Sand Soccer; Oceanside, Calif.).
FORWARDS (5): Alessandro Canale (UC San Diego; Venice Beach, Calif.), Andrew Feld (University of San Diego; Carlsbad, Calif.), Ryan Futagaki (Chicago Fire; Fountain Valley, Calif.), Max Griffin (Minnesota United; Riverside, Calif.), Jason Leopoldo (UCLA; Thousand Oaks, Calif.), Nick Perera (San Diego Sockers; San Diego, Calif.).