Trinidad & Tobago Names Roster for Oct. 10 World Cup Qualifier vs. USA

On Wednesday, Sept. 27, Trinidad & Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence unveiled his 23-player roster for the Soca Warriors’ last two Final Round World Cup Qualifying matches at Mexico (Oct. 6) and against the USA (Oct. 10).

The roster features 13 of the 23 players that were part of the T&T squad during last month’s qualifying set against Honduras and Panama, and eight of the 14 that featured in their 2-0 defeat to the United States back on June 8 in Commerce City, Colo.

Notably, Lawrence omitted a number of National Team regulars -- among them goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, who memorably recorded seven saves during the World Cup Qualifier in June, and defender Sheldon Bateau, who has captained the side at different times during the current qualifying cycle.

“The selection was based around the direction we are trying to go forward (to),” Lawrence said with regards to the TTFA looking forward to 2022 World Cup qualification. “I know full well what Jan Michael Williams is capable of. I know what Sheldon Bateau is capable of. I think it’s a perfect opportunity to integrate these (new) players into the international set up at senior level so they can get an idea what it is going to be like. We have to start thinking ahead.”

One familiar player in the squad is Joevin Jones. The Seattle Sounders FC midfielder leads the list of five players that ply their trade in the United States, and has also paced the Soca Warriors with five goals during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying campaign.

With the announcement, both of the USA’s October opponents in World Cup Qualifying have named their rosters. MNT head coach Bruce Arena will unveil his on Sunday, Oct. 1. 

Take a look at the full 23-player roster below:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Greg Ranjitsingh (Louisville City FC/USA), Glenroy Samuel (Morvant Caledonia United)

DEFENDERS (8): Daneil Cyrus (Juticalpa/HON), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada/USA), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (DirecTV W Connection), Alvin Jones (DirecTV W Connection), Josiah Trimmingham (Club Sando), Kevon Villaroel (North East Stars), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids/USA)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Neil Benjamin Jr. (W Connection), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar/NED), Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly Harmah/KSA), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders/USA), Jared London (Club Sando), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United/USA), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Leston Paul (Pasaquina FC/SLV), Kathon St. Hillaire (St. Ann's Rangers);

FORWARDS (3): Trevin Caesar (Sacramento Republic/USA), Akeem Roach (Vida/HON), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos/MEX)