OFFSIDE, DEFLECTIONS, and "DIRECTLY"
In the 2000 FIFA LOTG booklet printed for AYSO there is an example on page 51 to wit: Attacker A is in offside position near the goal. Attacker B (on-side) shoots on goal, the shot rebounds off the keeper's chest and is collected by A who successfully put s the ball in the net. The example states that A is offside (since he "gained an advantage by his position when the ball was last played by his teammate (B)"). I always thought that an intervening touch by a defender reversed the possession of the ball, whether intentional or not, (as in a ball out of touch, etc.) Since his advantage didn't develop until after the deflection, should he be considered offside? If he is, does this imply that, for the purposes of determining an offside violation, any deflection off any defender will not change the determination of possession, even if it say deflected off a defender other than the keeper? And doesn't this conflict with other deflection situations which DO change determination of possession.
Answer (June 6,
The implication you detect is correct: deflections off defenders do not change the possession of the ball for purposes of determining offside. Your question highlights a dichotomy of touched/played = made contact with in Law 11. If the defending player simply deflects the ball passed by an opponent, he has not controlled it. The opponent is not "saved" from being declared offside through the simple contact or deflection by his opponent, but is declared offside because he was in an offside position and became actively involved in play by gaining an advantage from his position when his teammate deflected the ball.
Here is an article in the current issue of Fair Play, the USSF referee magazine, which covers the situation completely:
If a "direct" free kick is kicked directly into the opponents' goal, a goal is awarded. (This is not the case with an "indirect" free kick, where a goal cannot be scored if the ball does not touch a second player - which can be the goalkeeper, who is, after all, also a player - before entering the goal.)
That is the primary meaning of "direct";
however, there are references in the Laws of the
Game to "direct" or "directly" which do not apply
to scoring goals. These references seem to
confuse some referees:
- Law 11 states that there is no offside offense if a player receives the ball directly from a goal kick, a throw-in or a corner kick
- throw-in taken by a teammate - Law 13 and Law 16 declare the ball kicked from within a team's own penalty area to be in play from a free kick or a goal kick only when it leaves the penalty area and goes directly into play
- Laws 16 and 17 tell us that a goal may be scored directly from a goal kick or a corner kick, but only against the opposing team
The use of "directly" in Laws 12, 13, 15, 16, and 17 is fairly clear: if the ball goes from point A to point B without interference, something can or cannot happen. That is not true of the use of "directly" in Law 11. Tradition and custom give us a slightly different meaning of the word "directly" in the context of offside.
If at a goal kick, throw-in, or a corner kick taken by his team, a player receives the ball directly from the restart, there is no problem. Nor should there be any problem at a corner kick, as it is physically impossible for a player on the field of play to be offside directly from a corner kick. The confusion arises at throw-ins or goal kicks when the ball is deflected or misplayed by an opponent and then comes to the teammate of the thrower or kicker who is in an offside position. In such cases, the referee must disregard the deflection or misplay of the ball by the opponent, as there has been no infringement of the Law. However, if the ball were to be deflected or misplayed instead by a teammate of the thrower or kicker on its way to the player in the offside position, that player must be declared offside.
GOAL OR CORNER KICK?
I would appreciate your help with an unusual problem. If a defender takes a direct free kick from outside his own area, passes back to the goalkeeper, and the ball rolls into the net without being touched by the keeper, is it a goal ? I have heard that it is in fact a corner, which seems very odd. Would it make any difference if the free kick was indirect ?
Answer (May 7, 2002:
he answer to your question can be found right in Law 13, which governs free kicks:
The Direct Free Kick
- if a direct free kick is kicked directly into the opponents' goal, a goal is awarded
- if a direct free kick is kicked directly into the team's own goal, a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team
The Indirect Free Kick
The referee indicates an indirect free kick by raising his arm above his head. He maintains his arm in that position until the kick has been taken and the ball has touched another player or goes out of play.
Ball Enters the Goal
A goal can be scored only if the ball subsequently touches another player before it enters the goal.
- if an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the opponents' goal, a goal kick is awarded
- if an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the team's own goal, a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team
END OF QUOTE
he only thing that might be added is that if the kick is taken from within the penalty area in which the goal in question is located, the kick is retaken.
INDIRECT FREE KICK INSIDE THE PENALTY AREA
In a recent U12 youth soccer game, the goalkeeper handled the ball on an intentional back pass and was inside the goal area at the time. The referee place the ball on the 6 yard line at the appropriate position which happened to be about a yard outside the goalpost and of course 6 yards from the goal line. The defending team put 5 players on the goal line inside the goal and had 2 players on the goal line just outside the goal. All of these players were less than 10 yards from the ball. The referee allowed the defenders inside the goal to remain, but told those on the goal line outside the goal that they must be 10 yards from the ball. This was based on Law 13, "all opponents are to be 10 yards from the ball until it is in play, unless they are on their own goal line between the goalposts." A referee instructor at a class I am attending said that this was incorrect and that the defending players on their goal line outside of the goal should have been allowed to stay since being 10 yards would have put them off the field. Who is correct?
Answer (May 28, 2002):
The referee was correct in removing the two players who stood on the goal line outside the goal. The instructor is absolutely incorrect. (Are you sure you heard the instructor correctly?) See Law 13, Indirect free kick to the attacking team, which says that all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball until it is in play, unless they are on their own goal line between the goalposts. The defending team may place as many of its players as will fit on the goal line to defend against the indirect free kick.
"KICKING" MEANS "MOVING" THE BALL AT A RESTART
In an indirect free kick, does the attacking player running over and stepping on the ball by put the ball in play? Many teams I play against use this technique in the indirect free kick. The second touch is then shot straight at the goal. I argued that the ball did not move so it was not in play. Therefore a goal from the second touch should not be allowed. After the game the opposing argument went to the point that any touch on the ball would result in some amount of movement of the ball. The ball may rock back and forth on the ground. The wall of the ball may be compressed and move by the touch. I interpreted the law as, the referee should be able to see the movement, not theorize about it. I was told this is a very controversial topic and is not clear. Is there a basic way to clear up the answer? Are there discussions online where I could read more? The link below seems to agree with my argument?
http://www.askasoccerreferee.com/?cat=25 The ball must move a perceptible distance from "here" to "there" to be considered in play through a kick. If the "kicker" only steps on top of the ball and does not kick it, and therefore the ball has NOT moved from "here" to "there," the kick was not properly taken and must be repeated. It is not a cautionable offense.
Answer (October 18, 2010):
The ball has to be KICKED in any free kick restart. Not stomped on or blown at or headed, but KICKED. In addition to be being kicked, it has to move somewhere, going from here to there, just as we say in all our publications, and most specifically in the USSF publication "Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game," which can be downloaded from this site at http://www.ussoccer.com/Referees/Resource-Center/Zone-1.aspx .
Unfortunately, too many referees allow the silly tricks of simply touching the ball, rather than kicking and moving it as required by Law 8 (the movement at the kick-off be "forward"), Law 13, Law 14 (the movement at the penalty kick must be "forward"), and Law 16. These referees are wrong, but the allow players to continue to do it incorrectly.
THE WALL AS CHORUS LINE
My question is in regard to the behavior of players in the properly set defensive wall. I don't see this often and when I do, it typically is with girls and I chuckle but one of my colleagues has a sterner attitude. After the wall is set at the proper distance, the girls will have their arms on one another's shoulders and they begin singing or dancing in unison, maybe kicking one foot high a la Can-Can. I watch the attackers and try to judge whether the defenders' actions unfairly distracted the kicker. If I don't see them visibly distracted, I let it go as a trifling infringement and let the girls have their fun. The coaches of the attackers usually want the defenders to be cautioned. My stern colleague doesn't see much humor in the situation and usually tells the defenders to "knock it off!" Is there a standard response to this situation, or should one try to judge whether the defenders' actions unfairly distract the kicker and act accordingly? If there is a standard response, what should it be?
Answer (January 3, 2007):
The referee must recognize that while members of the wall are allowed to jump about when opponents are taking a kick, choreographed actions that are unnatural and designed to both intimidate and to shock and distract their opponents constitute bringing the game into disrepute. As this occurred before the ball was in play, the correct call could be unsporting behavior on the part of the particular player whom the referee chooses from the chorus line. Caution and show the yellow card; restart with the free kick.