US SoccerUS Soccer

UPDATED: Bradley Announces 22-Player Roster to Travel to Denmark for Wednesday's Friendly

  • The 24th and Final Game of 2009 Sees the United States Make its First Visit to Denmark
  • Kickoff on Nov 18. Set for 2:30 p.m. ET
  • Broadcast Begins on ESPN Classic and Will Move to ESPN2

CHICAGO (Nov. 15, 2009) — U.S. Men's National Team head coach Bob Bradley will bring 22 players to Aarhus, Denmark, for the USA’s 24th and final match of 2009, a friendly against FIFA World Cup qualifiers Denmark.

Kickoff at NRGi Park – the home stadium of AGF Aarhus-based midfielder Benny Feilhaber - is set for 8:30 p.m. local time (2:30 p.m. ET). The match will start live on the ESPN Classic and will move to ESPN2 following the conclusion of the second leg of the FIFA World Cup qualifying playoff between Greece and Ukraine. Fans can watch online with ESPN360 and follow the match live via’s MatchTracker as well at

Bradley has added three players to the roster following the conclusion of the MLS Conference Championship matches and the Mexican league season. The Houston Dynamo midfield duo of Ricardo Clark and Stuart Holden are coming to Aarhus, along with Tigres defender Edgar Castillo. All three players will meet the team Monday in Denmark.

José Francisco Torres was initially called into the camp for Denmark and has since been excused for personal reasons.

Steve Cherundolo, Clint Dempsey and Chad Marshall have been released back to their clubs after the USA’s 1-0 loss to Slovakia on Nov. 14 in Bratislava.

The U.S. will play in Denmark for the first time. The teams have met five times in their history and have split the spoils with an even 1-1-3 record. In the last meeting on Jan. 20, 2007, at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., Jonathan Bornstein scored in his national team debut in helping the U.S. to a 3-1 victory. The match was also the first under Bradley, and began his record-setting run of becoming the first coach in U.S. history to win his first three games in charge.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION (detailed roster)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Marcus Hahnemann (Wolverhampton), Troy Perkins (Valerenga)
DEFENDERS (8): Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Edgar Castillo (Tigres), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Clarence Goodson (IK Start), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Heath Pearce (FC Dallas), Jonathan Spector (West Ham)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Benny Feilhaber (AGF Aarhus), Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Dax McCarty (FC Dallas), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew)
FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Hull City), Conor Casey (Colorado Rapids), Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas), Eddie Johnson (Fulham)