US SoccerUS Soccer

USA in Women's World Cup Qualifying

The U.S. Women’s National Team has never lost or tied a Women’s World Cup qualifying match and has a record of 14-0-0 through three CONCACAF Qualifying tournaments.

Overall: 14-0-0
Home: 5-0-0
Away: 2-0-0
Neutral: 7-0-0

China — 1991
The U.S. women first served notice to the region and the world that they would be a force by rolling through the competition with a 49-0 goal difference at the first-ever CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament in 1991 in Haiti. The legendary team would of course go on to win the inaugural Women’s World Cup. The experiences of the tournament in Haiti have become part of Women’s National Team lore, with stories of power outages, no hot water at the hotel, and the wildly enthusiastic fans, passed down throughout the years. The USA won its first four matches by double-figures, the only such streak in the team’s history, before dispatching Canada in the championship game to earn CONCACAF’s lone berth to China. Michelle Akers scored 10 goals in the five matches, including a hat trick in the final, and Brandi Chastain famously came off the bench against Mexico in the opening match to score five consecutive goals, her first-ever goals for the USA. Future U.S. WNT head coach April Heinrichs scored eight goals in the tournament while current U.S. captain Kristine Lilly, then 20 years old, scored twice.

Qualifying Matches
Date                Opponent            Result      U.S. Goal Scorers                               Location
April 18, 1991    Mexico               12-0 W     Akers (2), Heinrichs (2), Chastain (5),     Port-au-Prince, Haiti
                                                               Foudy, Hamm, Jennings
April 20, 1991    Martinique           12-0 W     Heinrichs (3), Akers (2), Hamm (2),        Port-au-Prince, Haiti
                                                               Biefeld (2), Foudy, Gebauer, Chastain
April 22, 1991    Trinidad & Tobago 10-0 W    Hamm (2), Jennings (2), Gebauer (2),     Port-au-Prince, Haiti
                                                               Akers (2), Bates, Chastain
April 25, 1991    Haiti                    10-0 W    Heinrichs (2), Akers (2), Jennings (2),     Port-au-Prince, Haiti
                                                               Bates (2), Lilly, Biefeld
April 28, 1991    Canada                5-0 W     Akers (3), Lilly, Heinrichs                       Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Sweden — 1995
The trip to Montreal was less eventful than Haiti, but the results were similar. The USA put up big goal numbers in the first round before routing Canada in the championship game. As CONCACAF had two berths to the Women’s World Cup in 1995, Canada also qualified. The tournament was infamous in that it did feature the first and only brawl in U.S. Women’s history, that erupting against Trinidad and Tobago and resulting in the ejection of Thori Bryan (who was more the victim than the aggressor, but got caught anyway), one of just six red cards in U.S. history. The games also marked the final matches for U.S. head coach Anson Dorrance as Tony DiCicco took over at the beginning of 1995. Lilly and goalkeeper Briana Scurry are the only members of that qualifying team who are still active. Lilly scored five goals in the tournament while Scurry played every minute of all four games. The tournament also marked the first ever goal allowed by the USA in Women’s World Cup qualifying (coming in the aforementioned tussle with T&T) and just one of two goals ever allowed by the USA in a qualifying match. The legendary Mia Hamm notched the first of her two four-goal games in the tournament, also against T&T.

Qualifying Matches
Date                   Opponent             Result    U.S. Goal Scorers                                     Location
August 13, 1994   Mexico                 9-0 W     Lilly (2), Akers (2), Venturini, Lalor,             Montreal, Canada
                                                                  Hamm, Roberts, Gabarra
August 17, 1994   Trinidad & Tobago  11-1 W   Hamm (4), Gabarra (2), Venturini (2),           Montreal, Canada
                                                                  Akers, Lilly, Cromwell
August 19, 1994   Jamaica               10-0 W    Akers (2), Lilly (2), Overbeck (2), Roberts,  Montreal, Canada
                                                                  Milbrett, Rafanelli, Gabarra
August 21, 1994   Canada                 6-0 W     Akers, Hamm, Gabarra, Foudy, Roberts,    Montreal, Canada
                                                                  Own Goal

USA — 1999
As host, the USA got an automatic berth and did not have to qualify. Canada defeated Mexico in the CONCACAF Qualifying Tournament to earn its berth to the 1999 Women's World Cup.

USA — 2003
This marked the first time the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup served as qualifying for the Women’s World Cup. The tournament also showed the marked improvement of CONCACAF teams as the USA defeated Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago by 3-0 scores. The competition also saw some wonderfully supportive crowds in Seattle, Wash., at the magnificent Safeco Field, home of the Seattle Mariners. The USA booked its tickets to the Women's World Cup (which at the time was scheduled for China, but was later moved to the USA due to the SARS outbreak) with a 7-0 win over Costa Rica in the semifinals. Tiffeny Milbrett tied a U.S. record with five goals in that match. The USA won the regional title against fellow WWC qualifier Canada with a dramatic 2-1 “golden goal” victory on a sloppy field at a fog-shrouded Rose Bowl as Mia Hamm scored the dramatic winner. The USA and Canada would meet again in the third-place match of the 2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup, a 3-1 U.S. victory. Just eight members of the USA’s 2006 Women’s Gold Cup roster played in the 2002 event.

Qualifying Matches (2002 CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup)
Date                     Opponent              Result         U.S. Goal Scorers                               Location
October 27, 2002    Mexico                   3-0 W        Wagner, Parlow, MacMillan                    Pasadena, Calif.
October 29, 2002    Trinidad & Tobago    3-0 W        Parlow, Chastain, Milbrett                      Fullerton, Calif.
November 2, 2002  Panama                  9-0 W        Milbrett (5), MacMillan (2), Roberts,        Seattle, Wash.
November 6, 2002  Costa Rica              7-0 W        Parlow (3), Hucles, MacMillan, Lilly,       Seattle, Wash.
                                                                          Own Goal
November 9, 2002  Canada                   2-1 W (ot)   Milbrett, Hamm                                   Pasadena, Calif.