US SoccerUS Soccer
MiaHamm WWCEVENTBS032811122.jpg

National Soccer Hall of Fame Appoints New Board

Nine-Member Board Includes Former U.S. WNT Star Mia Hamm, Former U.S. Soccer President Dr. Bob Contiguglia and Former U.S. Soccer Secretary General Hank Steinbrecher

CHICAGO (June 13, 2011) – As part of the continued transition of the National Soccer Hall of Fame, a new nine-member Board of Directors has been appointed. The former National Soccer Hall of Fame Board of Directors approved the new board members during their last official meeting.

The new board members are Dr. Bob Contiguglia, Ed Foster-Simeon, Evelyn Gill, Mia Hamm, Brendan Moylan, Len Oliver, Alec Papadakis, Nelson Rodriguez and Hank Steinbrecher. Steinbrecher will serve as the Chairman of the Board.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame was established in 1950 when former professional and amateur players from the Philadelphia “Old-timers” Association took it upon themselves to recognize the achievements of soccer in America. Sixty years later, nearly 300 members have been elected to the Hall of Fame for their outstanding contributions to American soccer, both on and off the field.

Most recently recognized for their contribution to soccer in the United States were Cobi Jones, Eddie Pope, Earnie Stewart, Bruce Murray and Bob Gansler. Jones, Pope and Stewart were elected to the 2011 Class of the National Soccer Hall of Fame on the Player ballot, Murray was elected on the Veteran ballot and Gansler was elected on the Builder ballot. The Induction Ceremony took place before the U.S. Men’s National Team match against Spain on June 4 in Foxborough, Mass.