US SoccerUS Soccer

Nominations Being Accepted For 2012 U.S. Soccer Werner Fricker Builder Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 U.S. Soccer Werner Fricker Builder Award, honoring the late U.S. Soccer President Werner J. Fricker.

CHICAGO (Oct. 3, 2011) — Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 U.S. Soccer Werner Fricker Builder Award, honoring the late U.S. Soccer President Werner J. Fricker.

The Werner Fricker Builder Award was created in 2002 and is the top honor that can be bestowed upon an individual or individuals by U.S. Soccer. The award criteria was amended in 2011 by the Werner Fricker Sr. Memorial Award Task Force.

Eligibility Criteria:

In order to be eligible an individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Nominees can be an individual or group of individuals who is/are living or deceased. 
  • Nominees must have dedicated a minimum of 20 years of service to the sport. 
    • For athletes, playing career can count towards 20 years of service but nominee must have gone on to contribute to the sport in another capacity. 
  • Nominee’s service must stand out and distinguish nominee from others serving in the same capacity. 
  • Nominee must have created or fostered programs or innovations that will outlast his/her/their own active involvement in the sport. 
  • Nominee’s work has had a demonstrable impact on advancing the sport of soccer at the national level

Interested persons can nominate individuals for the annual Werner Fricker Builder Award by completing the nomination form and mailing it to U.S. Soccer, C/O the Werner Fricker Builder Award Committee, 1801 S. Prairie Avenue, Chicago, IL 60616 or emailing it to The form is also available for download at, and applications must be submitted by Nov. 7, 2011.

Werner Fricker himself was honored posthumously with the inaugural award in 2002, with his son, Werner Jr., accepting the award on his behalf. With U.S. Soccer’s Annual General Meeting moving from the summer months to March, no award was bestowed in 2004.

The award returned in 2005, with the honor going to Michigan Soccer Association President Gerhard Mengel. In 2006, the award was given to Sal Rapaglia, president of the Eastern New York Amateur Soccer Association. Francisco Marcos, the founder and President of United Soccer Leagues, received the 2007 WFA. Last year, Bob Gansler, former U.S. MNT Head Coach and Kansas City Wizards Head Coach was recognized by his peers.

The President of U.S. Soccer appoints a selection committee to review the nominations and select a winner. The selection committee appointees are comprised of various representatives of U.S. Soccer and past award winners.

The nomination and consideration process takes place annually. The nomination process is open to all. A maximum of one award will be given each year; however the committee is not required to give the award annually.

Fricker was president of U.S. Soccer from 1984 to 1990 and is widely credited for his role in bringing the 1994 FIFA World Cup to the United States. Born in Yugoslavia and raised in Austria, he lived his adult life in Pennsylvania, where he was a star midfielder for the United German Hungarians of Philadelphia soccer club from 1954 to 1969 and was a member of the 1964 U.S. Olympic Team. Fricker served as U.S. Soccer President from 1984 to 1990 and was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y., in 1992. He died in 2001 at the age of 65.

2002    Werner Fricker, Sr.
2003    Sunil Gulati
2005    Gerhard Mengel
2006    Sal Rapaglia
2007    Francisco Marcos
2008    Bob Gansler
2009    Dr. S. Robert Contiguglia
2010    Kevin Payne