US SoccerUS Soccer
U17 Morgan Andrews.jpg

U.S. to Face Bahamas, Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago in CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship

  • Tournament Takes Place from May 2-12 in Guatemala City, Guatemala
  • Top Three Teams Qualify for 2012 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Azerbaijan

CHICAGO (Feb. 20, 2012) -- The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted the draw for the upcoming Under-17 Women's Championship in Miami Beach, Fla., and the United States will face Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and the Bahamas in Group B play. Group A consists of host Guatemala, Canada, Panama and Jamaica.

The tournament takes place from May 2-12 and will be played entirely at Guatemala City's Estadio Cementos Progreso, site of the 2010 CONCACAF Under-20 Women's Championship and numerous CONCACAF Champions League matches.

The finalists and winner of the third-place match qualify for the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup to be held in Azerbaijan from Sept. 22 to Oct. 13.

The USA opens the first round against the Bahamas at 4 p.m. ET on Thursday, May 3. The U.S. then faces Trinidad & Tobago (4 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 5) and Mexico (6:30 p.m. ET on Monday, May 7).

The semifinals will be played on Thursday, May 10, with the final and third-place match will be held on Saturday, May 12.

2012 CONCACAF U-17 Women's Championship
At Guatemala City, Guatemala (Estadio Cementos Progreso)

Group A: Guatemala, Canada, Panama, Jamaica
Group B: United States, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Bahamas

(All times Eastern)

Wednesday, May 2
Canada vs. Panama, 4 p.m.
Guatemala vs. Jamaica, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 3
United States
vs. Bahamas, 4 p.m.
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 4
Jamaica vs. Canada, 4 p.m.
Guatemala vs. Panama, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 5
United States
vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 4 p.m.
Mexico vs. Bahamas, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 6
Panama vs. Jamaica, 4 p.m.
Guatemala vs. Canada, 6:30 p.m.

Monday, May 7
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Bahamas, 4 p.m.
United States vs. Mexico, 6:30 p.m.

(Match order subject to change)
Thursday, May 10
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 3:30 p.m.
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 12
Third Place

Semifinal losers, 3:30 p.m.

Semifinal winners, 6:30 p.m.