US SoccerUS Soccer

Draw Held for 2008 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

CHICAGO (June 1, 2008) – The Final Draw for the 2008 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in New Zealand was held today in Wellington as the 16 berths in the tournament were placed into four groups of four teams each. This will be the first-ever FIFA world championship for women in this age group and will take place in four New Zealand cities from Oct. 28-Nov. 16.

As qualifying has yet to be completed in the USA’s CONCACAF region as well as in Africa (where Ghana, Cameroon and Nigeria will battle for two berths), the five yet-to-be-filled spots were allocated among the groups. The winner of the CONCACAF qualifying tournament, being held July 17-26 in Trinidad & Tobago, was drawn into Group C as the seeded team along with Japan, France and Paraguay. Host New Zealand, Germany and Brazil garnered the other three seeds.

One other CONCACAF team will play in Group A with host New Zealand, Colombia and Denmark. The other CONCACAF qualifier will play in Group B with Germany, North Korea and an African team. Group D features Brazil, England, South Korea and the other African qualifier.

At CONCACAF qualifying, the U.S. Under-17 Women will face Costa Rica, El Salvador, and hosts Trinidad & Tobago during the group phase at Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya. Group B features Canada, Jamaica, Mexico and Puerto Rico, which will play their matches at Dwight York Stadium in Bacolet. The top three teams – the winners of the semifinals and the winner of the third-place match -- advance to New Zealand.

The U.S. kicks off the tournament in the first-ever CONCACAF qualifying tournament for U-17 women against Costa Rica on Thursday, July 17. Two days later, the U.S. takes on El Salvador and finishes up group play on Monday, July 21, against Trinidad & Tobago.

The tournament semifinals will take place on Thursday, July 24, at Marvin Lee Stadium. The third place match and championship game will take place on Saturday, June 26.

2008 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup Final Draw
Oct. 28- Nov. 16, 2008

Locations: Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton and Wellington, New Zealand
Seeded teams: New Zealand, Germany, CONCACAF 1, Brazil

Group A
A1 New Zealand
A3 Denmark
A4 Colombia

Group B
B2 Germany
B3 Korea DPR

Group C
C1 Japan
C3 France
C4 Paraguay

Group D
D1 Brazil
D2 England
D3 Korea Republic

* The winner of CONCACAF Qualifying being held from 17-26 in Trinidad & Tobago will be placed into Group C