US SoccerUS Soccer

Second Round Match-Ups Determined for 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup After Draw in Chicago

CHICAGO (Wednesday, June 13, 2001) -
The 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Draw was held at the U.S. Soccer Federation headquarters today with 12 Major League Soccer (MLS) teams, 16 A-League/D3-Pro League squads and the four amateur first-round winners joining to form the second round field of 32, with second round action slated to begin on Wednesday, June 27. Home teams and venues will be designated for all second round matches by Friday, June 15.

The 2000 U.S. Open Cup Champion Chicago Fire (MLS) will begin their quest to defend their title when they face the San Diego Flash F.C. (A-League). This will be the first meeting ever between the two teams in Open Cup play. Last year's runner-up, the Miami Fusion, will meet the winner of this evening's first round match between the Miami Strike Force of the Premier Development League (PDL) and the U.S. Amateur Soccer Association (USASA) Region III representative, Uruguay S.C. (of Davie, Fla.).

Defending MLS Cup champion Kansas City Wizards could face a 2000 MLS Cup rematch against the Fire if both teams can get past their second round opponents. The Wizards have never won an Open Cup tournament game or qualifier and open against the powerful Seattle Sounders of the A-League.

Of the 16 second round match-ups, there is only one intra-league pairing, with the A-League's Rochester Raging Rhinos facing the Hershey Wildcats. Every other match-up in the second round features teams from competing leagues.

In a rematch of the 1999 quarterfinals, the Carolina Dynamo (D3) will have a chance at revenge when they face the Columbus Crew (MLS) in the 2001 tournament. The teams met in 1999 and the Crew walked away with a 3-0 victory.

Another possible rematch will have the New England Revolution (MLS) awaiting the winner of the other first round game today that has the PDL's Mid Michigan Bucks hosting USASA Region II Champion Chaldean Arsenal of Farmington, Mich. The Bucks stunned the Revolution 1-0 in the second round last year.

A second round match-up of note in the West pits El Paso Patriots (A-League) versus the Chico Rooks' (D3). The two teams' groups in USL qualifying played inter-group matches, but these two squad did not face one another.

After two months of qualifying between 153 eligible teams, 32 squads will be left competing in the tournament's second round, on the route to determine the 2001 Open Cup Champion. Today's Open Cup draw consisted of four pots, two for each region (west and east), with eight teams in each pot. Both the west and east regions each had a pot that consisted of six MLS teams along with two A-League squads. Another pot in each region had the remaining A-League/D3 Pro teams and the first round amateur winners.

Dating back to 1914, the Lamar U.S. Open Cup is the oldest soccer cup competition in the United States and is among the oldest in the world. Open to all affiliated amateur and professional teams in the U.S., the annual Open Cup is an 88-year-old single-elimination tournament based on similar competitions played across the world concurrent with domestic league action.

In 1999, the U.S. Open Cup was renamed the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup to honor the long-time soccer supporter and pioneer. Hunt, the owner of the Columbus Crew and Kansas City Wizards of MLS and the owner of the Dallas Tornados of the old NASL, was one of the sport's first major ownership figures and is a member of the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

The eventual 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup winner will receive $100,000 in prize money, while the runner-up takes home $50,000.

2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Draw - West Bracket
%=macroPart|font/arial2=%# %=macroPart|font/arial2=%Higher-Seeded Team %=macroPart|font/arial2=%Lower-Seeded Team
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%5 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%El Paso Patriots (A-League) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Chico Rooks (D3)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%6 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Colorado Rapids (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Pittsburgh Riverhounds (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%7 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Kansas City Wizards (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Seattle Sounders (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%8 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Chicago Fire (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. San Diego Flash FC (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%9 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Milwaukee Rampage (A-League) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Utah Blitzz (D3)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%10 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Central Coast Roadrunners (PDL)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%11 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Nashville Metros (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%12 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Dallas Burn (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Seattle Sounders Select (PDL)

2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Draw - East Bracket
%=macroPart|font/arial2=%# %=macroPart|font/arial2=%Higher-Seeded Team %=macroPart|font/arial2=%Lower-Seeded Team
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%13 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%NY/NJ MetroStars (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Charleston Battery (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%14 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%New England Revolution (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Mid Michigan Bucks (PDL)
or Chaldean Arsensal, Mich. (USASA)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%15 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Columbus Crew (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Carolina Dynamo (D3)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%16 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Miami Fusion (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Miami Strike Force (PDL)
or Uruguay S.C., Fla. (USASA)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%17 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Tampa Bay Mutiny (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Connecticut Wolves (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%18 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Richmond Kickers (A-League) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Reading Rage (D3)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%19 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%Rochester Raging Rhinos (A-League) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. Hershey Wildcats (A-League)
%=macroPart|font/arial1=%20 %=macroPart|font/arial1=%D.C. United (MLS) %=macroPart|font/arial1=%vs. New Jersey Stallions (D3)

Home teams and venues will be designated for all second round matches by Friday, June 15.