US SoccerUS Soccer
Cobi Jones

Cobi Jones, Eddie Pope, and Earnie Stewart Elected to National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2011

Bruce Murray Elected on the Veteran Ballot;
Bob Gansler Elected on the Builder Ballot

CHICAGO (March 29, 2011) – Cobi Jones, the U.S. Men’s National Team’s all-time leading cap winner and long-time member of the LA Galaxy, Eddie Pope, a perennial anchor of the U.S. defense for nearly a decade and winner of three MLS Cups with D.C. United, and Earnie Stewart, a three-time World Cup veteran, have been elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2011 on the Player ballot.

Joining the players in this year’s class are Bruce Murray, a midfielder and forward who was one of the leading stars of the U.S. Men’s National Team in the late 1980s and early 1990s who was elected on the Veteran ballot, and former U.S. Men’s National Team and Kansas City Wizards head coach Bob Gansler, who was elected on the Builder ballot.

The Class of 2011 induction ceremony will likely be scheduled for this summer. Details are still being finalized and will be announced at a later date.

Jones, eligible on the Player ballot for the first time, was named on 87 percent of the ballots, while Pope earned a spot on 74 percent of the ballots and Stewart on 71 percent of the ballots. Murray and Gansler were both named on 58 percent of their respective Veteran and Builder ballots.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame as a Player, an individual must have been retired for at least three full calendar years but no more than 10 years, and either 1) Played at least 20 full international games for the United States or 2) Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and was selected as a league All-Star at least once.

The selection committee for the player election includes all current and former coaches of the U.S. Men’s and Women’s National Team, active MLS and WPS coaches with a minimum of four years tenure, select soccer administrators, designated members of the media and all Hall of Famers.

Eligibility for the 2011 Veteran ballot was the same as the Player ballot except that a player must have been retired for more than 10 years. The Veteran ballot is voted on only by current Hall of Famers.

The 2011 Builder ballot includes seven individuals selected by a screening committee of select soccer administrators and Hall of Famers and follows the same procedures for election as the Veteran ballot. Only one Builder can be elected each year and must have appeared on at least 50 percent of the ballots.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame as a Builder, an individual in a non-playing capacity must have demonstrated a major, sustained and positive impact on U.S. soccer on a national or first division professional level for a minimum of 10 years.

2011 Player Ballot Results

Cobi Jones               87.13 %
Eddie Pope               74.26
Earnie Stewart          71.29
Marco Etcheverry      56.44
Shannon MacMillan   54.46
Joe-Max Moore         51.49
Cindy Parlow            43.56
Carlos Valderrama     42.57
Peter Vermes            38.61
Chris Armas              32.67

2011 Veteran Ballot Results

Bruce Murray              58.14 %
Desmond Armstrong   48.84
John Doyle                 48.84
Linda Hamilton            46.51
Teofilo Cubillas           44.19
Shep Messing              41.86
Glenn Myernick            41.86
George Best                39.53
Bill McPherson             18.6
Julio Cantillo                4.65

2011 Builder Ballot Results

Bob Gansler               58.49 %
Tony DiCicco              56.60
Chuck Blazer               52.83
Sigi Schmid                50.94
Bob Contiguglia           49.06
Francisco Marcos         41.51
Fritz Marth                  26.42