Penalty Kick Deception
In 2010, the International Board provided a revised interpretation of actions by the kicker considered impermissible at the taking of a penalty kick (the same guideline also applies to a kick from the mark as well as to a penalty kick taken in extended time). According to the Board, feinting during the run to the ball is acceptable but, once at the ball, any deception or feinting is unsporting behavior and must be cautioned.
Recently, USSF arranged for six video clips to be prepared which clarify the difference between these types of deception and what the correct referee action should be in each case. These six clips are joined with two others drawn from MLS games.
In all cases, it is important to remember that deception is simply another example of a player violating Law 14 (The Penalty Kick). Referees must treat deception the same way any other violation of Law 14 is handled – await the outcome of the kick and decide what to do based on whether a goal is scored or not.
If you'd like to use these video clips for instructional purposes, please click here.