US SoccerUS Soccer
Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach

U.S. WNT Players Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan and Crystal Dunn Up for 2013 ESPY Awards

Fans Can Vote Up to Wednesday, July 17 at 9 p.m. ET

CHICAGO (July 15, 2013) – Three U.S. Women’s National Team players are up for 2013 ESPY Awards, which will be given out on Wednesday night in Los Angeles during a star-studded event at Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE.

Fans can vote for Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan and Crystal Dunn at Voting is open until 9 p.m. ET on Wednesday, July 17.

U.S. forward Abby Wambach, who broke Mia Hamm’s all-time international scoring record on June 20 when she found the net four times against the Korea Republic at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J., is appropriately up for Best Record-Breaking Performance. Heading into the match needing two goals to tie Hamm’s career mark at 158 and three goals to beat it, Wambach scored four times before halftime and currently sits as the top scorer in the history of international soccer with 160 goals.

Wambach will be in some distinguished company. Also up for the award are New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, who set the NFL record for consecutive games with a touchdown pass, Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson, who set the NFL record for receiving yards in a season and the most decorated athlete in Olympic history in swimmer Michael Phelps.

U.S. forward Alex Morgan is up for Best Moment for her stunning 123rd minute game-winning header against Canada in the semifinal of the 2012 Olympics. Morgan scored off a cross from Heather O’Reilly, giving the USA a 4-3 victory in a match in which it had trailed three times and tallying the latest goal ever scored in a FIFA competition. It came just seconds before the final whistle and sent the Americans to the gold medal game, where they defeated Japan 2-1 in front of more than 80,000 fans at London’s Wembley Stadium on two goals from Carli Lloyd.

Morgan was nominated last year for Best Breakthrough Athlete for her performance at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in which she became the first U.S. player to score in the semifinal and final.

Also in Morgan’s category this year are Jack Hoffman, a seven-year-old cancer survivor who ran for a touchdown in the Nebraska football spring game, tennis star Andy Murray, who delighted all of Great Britain by becoming the first British man in 77 years to win Wimbledon and Indianapolis Colts head coach Bruce Pagano, who returned the NFL sideline after undergoing treatment for cancer. Morgan will also be a presenter during the awards ceremony.

Young U.S. defender Crystal Dunn is up for Best Female College Athlete. It’s been quite a year for Dunn, who played a key role in helping the USA win the 2012 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup in Japan last fall – assisting on the winning goal in the quarterfinal and final -- then helped the University of North Carolina win the NCAA title and won the Hermann Trophy as college soccer’s best player. She made her full Women’s National Team debut in February against Scotland in Nashville, Tenn. and has since earned six total caps with four starts.

Dunn is up against her classmate Kara Cannizzaro, who led UNC to the 2013 NCAA lacrosse title, as well as Baylor basketball legend Brittney Griner and Oklahoma softball pitcher Keilani Ricketts.

2013 ESPY Awards Nominations
Best Record-Breaking Performance – Abby Wambach
Best Moment – Alex Morgan
Best Female College Athlete – Crystal Dunn