US SoccerUS Soccer

MLS All-Stars Top Fulham FC 4-1

COLUMBUS, Ohio (July 30, 2005) – The MLS All-Stars defeated Fulham FC 4-1 in the tenth MLS All-Star game. The annual exhibition brought U.S. MNT stalwarts Brian McBride and Carlos Bocanegra to Columbus Crew Stadium as their English Premiership side battled the best of the MLS. The MLS roster also boasted a handful of U.S. stars, including starters Jimmy Conrad, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan and Greg Vanney. Eddie Pope was also voted in as a starter, but an injury suffered in the Gold Cup semifinal vs. Honduras kept him out of the match. Frankie Hejduk replaced Pope in the MLS starting lineup.

MLS took the lead after 23 minutes when Donovan found New England Revolution forward Taylor Twellman for the opening goal. For his efforts, Twellman was named game MVP.

Fulham would respond before the half when Claus Jensen converted a penalty kick in the 36th minute. Luis Boa Morte originally drew the foul from Chris Albright with a hard charging run inside the MLS area.

Dempsey represented the U.S. MNT well, as he was originally credited with a resounding goal in the 56th minute which put the MLS All-Stars ahead for good. A Fulham clearance attempt failed to alleviate the danger following a cross into their area. The ball fell perfectly into Dempsey's path, who cracked a first time volley from the top of the box into the lower left corner for a 2-1 MLS lead. Following the game however, the goal was awarded to Ronnie O'Brien after it was ruled that he had redirected Dempsey's shot on its way to goal.

Brian McBride, serving as Fulham’s captain, had a relatively quiet return to his former MLS home. The Crew’s all-time leading goal scorer was shutout by the MLS defense, but received a thunderous ovation from the Crew faithful when he was replaced in the 60th minute.

Jeff Cunningham, another former member of the Crew, capped his return to Columbus with a pair of goals in the closing five minutes of play to provide the final margin.