US SoccerUS Soccer
U-17 MNT

U.S. U-17 MNT Travels with 20-Man Roster For Aegean Cup 2012 International Youth Tournament

CHICAGO (Jan. 14, 2012) – The U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team traveled to Manisa, Turkey, on Saturday to compete at the Aegean Cup 2012 International Youth Tournament. During the first foreign trip of 2012, the 20-player roster will face Turkey, Denmark and the Czech Republic.

Of the 20 players traveling to Turkey, 17 featured at the 2011 Nike International Friendlies in December, including all five of the U.S. goalscorers: Rubio Rubin, Wesley Wade, DeAndre Robinson, Tyler Turner and Junior Flores.

Traveling with the squad for the first time are defender Jorge Miranda, midfielder Aaron Meyer and forward Lawrence Taiwo.

The U.S. Soccer Development Academy is well-represented on the trip, with 16 players hailing from Academy clubs. New York Red Bulls leads the pack with four players on the roster.

U.S. Soccer’s U-17 Residency Program features 32 of the country’s top players in the age group converging and training daily in Bradenton, Fla. The team is at the beginning of a two-year cycle that will culminate with the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship, with the goal of qualifying for the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. The U.S. is the only nation to have qualified for all 14 previous editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup and is coming off a Round of 16 appearance in the 2011 event in Mexico.

U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team Roster by Position
GOALKEEPERS (2): Paul Christensen (Seattle Sounders; Woodinville, Wash.), Evan Louro (New York Red Bulls; South River, N.J.)
DEFENDERS (6): Adonis Amaya (Chivas USA; Westminster, Calif.), Connor Donovan (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Jorge Miranda (Real So Cal; Van Nuys, Calif.), Shaquell Moore (Cobb FC; Powder Springs Ga.) John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Tyler Turner (South Central Premier; West Haven, Conn.)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Steven Echevarria (New York Red Bulls; Slate Hill, N.Y.), Junior Flores (McLean Youth Soccer; Manassas Park, Va.), Angel Heredia (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Guyllain Kabala (New England Revolution; Manchester, N.H.), Christopher Lema (New York Red Bulls; Ridgefield, N.J), Aaron Meyer (FC Dallas; Carrollton, Texas), Rubio Rubin (Westside Metros; Beaverton, Ore.)
FORWARDS (5): Corey Baird (San Diego Surf; Escondido, Calif.), DeAndre Robinson (Concorde Fire; Atlanta, Ga.), Lawrence Taiwo (NC Alliance; Raleigh, N.C.), Wesley Wade (New York Red Bulls; South Orange, N.J.), Dembakwi Yomba (Concorde Fire Academy; Lithonia, Ga.)

U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team Aegean Cup 2012 Schedule
Date      Opponent
Jan. 17  Turkey
Jan. 18  Denmark
Jan. 20  Czech Republic