US SoccerUS Soccer
Qwest Field

Qwest Field to Host 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final Between Seattle Sounders and Columbus Crew

  • 2010 Final to Take Place Oct. 5 at 8 p.m. PT, Live on Fox Soccer Channel
  • Guillermo Barros Schelotto Penalty Kick Sends Crew to First Open Cup Final since 2002
  • Two Goals from Nate Jacqua Give Seattle Chance to Defend Open Cup on Home Turf

CHICAGO (Sept. 1, 2010) – The reigning Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup champion Seattle Sounders FC will seek to defend their title when they host the Columbus Crew on Oct. 5 at 8 p.m. PT at Qwest Field. The game will be televised live on Fox Soccer Channel and fans can also follow along on’s MatchTracker.

The Sounders advanced to their second consecutive Open Cup final after defeating Chivas USA 3-1 at Starfire Sports Complex in Tukwila, Wash. The Sounders will face the Columbus Crew, who emerged with a 2-1 victory against D.C. United at RFK Stadium.

On the west coast, Sounders forward Nate Jaqua scored the opening goal in the 10th minute for the home side, converting with a first time finish after Steve Zkuani's good flank work and centering pass.

After the halftime break Zakuani was the architect behind the Sounders' second goal, crossing for in-form forward Fredy Montero to double Seattle's lead after 59 minutes.

Chivas answered back and cut the deficit in half in the 66th minute, with Jesus Padilla latching onto a loose ball in the box to put his side on the board. The Los Angeles club pushed for the equalizer, but the home side defended resolutely in front of a boisterous crowd.

In the end Seattle confirmed their superiority with an insurance goal. Jacqua added his second of the night, heading home at the near post from a great cross by substitute Roger Levesque. Referee Ricardo Salazar blew the final whistle soon after, confirming Seattle's place in this year's final to the delight of the home fans.

In the nation's capital, site of the 2009 Open Cup Final, the Columbus Crew came from behind to defeat D.C. United.

The visiting Crew fell behind to a 14th minute Pablo Hernandez penalty kick for the home side. United, last year's beaten finalists in this competition, took their lead into the second half, but the goal scoring Argentinian would soon turn villain when a 59th minute red card ended his involvement in the match. Nonetheless, D.C. maintained the upper hand, spurred on by the home support at RFK Stadium.

In the 89th minute the Crew's search for an equalizer paid off. Defender Andy Iro rifled a shot from inside the area which deflected off D.C. defender Marc Burch and into the net to send the match to overtime.

Crew midfielder Guillermo Barros Schelotto gave his side the lead eight minutes into overtime, converting a penalty kick after United defender Carey Talley felled Steven Lenhart in the box. Despite some late chances from the home team, the Crew held on for the victory and booked their spot in the Open Cup final for the first time since they won the competition in 2002.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 96 consecutive years dating back to 1914. It is the oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.







Sept. 1

Columbus Crew (MLS) 2, D.C. United (MLS) 1

*Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium; Washington, D.C.


Sept. 1

Chivas USA (MLS) 1, Seattle Sounders FC (MLS) 3

Starfire Sports Complex; Tukwila, Wash.

*NOTE: Change of time or venue since original announcement on July 1.






Oct. 5

Columbus Crew at Seattle Sounders

8 p.m. PT

Qwest Field; Seattle, Wash.