US SoccerUS Soccer
2014 CONCACAF Women

U.S. U-20 WNT Draws Costa Rica, Jamaica and Guatemala for CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championship to be Held Jan. 9-19 in the Cayman Islands


USA Opens Tournament on Jan. 9 against Costa Rica in Quest for One of Three Berths to 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada

CHICAGO (Nov. 6, 2013) - The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) has conducted the final draw for the upcoming CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship, and the United States will face Costa Rica, Jamaica and Guatemala in Group A play.

The 2014 CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship features eight nations divided into two groups of four teams. The top two finishers in each group will qualify for the semifinals, with the winners of those games along with the winner of the third-place match earning berths to the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada.

The draw, which was conducted in Grand Cayman, also put host Cayman Islands, Honduras, Trinidad & Tobago and Mexico in Group B.

“The respect we have for every team in the tournament, whether they are in our group or not, is immense,” said U.S. head coach Michelle French, who attended the draw. “Each team enters the tournament with one goal in mind, to qualify for the U-20 Women’s World Cup. I have no doubt each team will be prepared for the challenge, and that will make the tournament exciting and unpredictable.”

The competition will take place from Jan. 9-19 and will be played entirely at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex in George Town, Cayman Islands. The USA opens play on Thursday, Jan. 9, against Costa Rica, faces Jamaica on Saturday, Jan. 11, and finishes the group against Guatemala on Monday, Jan. 13.

All three of the USA’s group games kick off at 7:30 p.m. ET. The semifinal matches will take place on Friday, Jan. 17, and the Championship and Third-Place match are on Jan. 19.

As defending champion of this tournament, the USA was pre-seeded atop Group A, and the hosts Cayman Islands were pre-seeded atop Group B.

“As we've seen in the European and Asian qualification process, qualifying for this World Cup is certainly not easy,” said French. “Across the world, and specifically within the CONCACAF region, the women's game is continuing to evolve as Federations dedicate more resources to their women's programs.”

Half of the field for the 16-team 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup is set. Joining host Canada will be China, Korea Republic and Korea DPR out of Asia and European qualifiers England, France, Finland and Germany.

The U-20 Women’s World Cup will be played in four Canadian cities – Edmonton, Montreal, Moncton and Toronto -- from Aug. 5-24, 2014.

French and her coaching staff will hold two training camps before the end of the year to prepare the squad for qualifying and then will name a 20-player roster to travel to the Caymans.

“Our responsibility remains the same regardless of who we play within our group,” said French. “Our goal is to qualify for the World Cup. Looking forward, solidifying our roster, tactically preparing to face different styles and systems of play, and physically preparing ourselves to compete at our highest level are just a few of the areas that will be key for us over the next couple of months as we get ready for this tournament.”

2014 CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship
Group A Schedule



Kickoff (ET)


Jan. 9

USA vs. Costa Rica

7:30 p.m.

Truman Bodden Sports Complex

Jan. 11

USA vs. Jamaica

7:30 p.m.

Truman Bodden Sports Complex

Jan. 13

USA vs. Guatemala

7:30 p.m.

Truman Bodden Sports Complex