US SoccerUS Soccer
USWNTKH07102011 119.jpg

U.S. Women's National Team Named March of Dimes Sportswomen of the Year

CHICAGO (Nov. 21, 2011) – The U.S. Women’s National Team have been named Sportswomen of the Year by the March of Dimes New York Division. The team, represented by Abby Wambach and Hope Solo, will be honored at the 28th Annual Sports Luncheon on Nov. 30 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.

Receiving the Sportsman of the Year award is New York Yankees All-Star first baseman Mark Texiera. The Sports Leadership Award will be presented to  Dr. Mark Emmert, NCAA President, and Steve Bornstein, NFL Network President/CEO, will be awarded the Corporate Leadership Award. 

Each year, March of Dimes honors the outstanding achievements of men and women in the sports industry. Past recipients include New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi, NBA Commissioner David Stern, former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, baseball greats Mickey Mantle and Cal Ripken, Jr., tennis legends Andre Agassi and Venus Williams, basketball Hall of Famers Patrick Ewing and Lisa Leslie, and Golfer of the Year Annika Sorenstam.  

The U.S.’s determination and fight in the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where the team was an underdog to defending champion and host Germany, captivated people across the world. After a memorable come-from-behind win against Brazil in the quarterfinal match thanks to a last-minute Wambach goal and superb saves from Solo in the penalty shootout, the U.S. fell to Japan in the finals.

The March of Dimes is the leading nonprofit organization for pregnancy and baby health. With chapters nationwide, the March of Dimes works to improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth and infant mortality. For the latest resources and information, visit or