US SoccerUS Soccer

Voting for U.S. Soccer's 2002 Chevy Athlete of the Year Awards Now Available at

CHICAGO (Friday, December 13, 2002) - Voting for U.S. Soccer’s four prestigious Chevy Athlete of the Year awards – Male, Female, Young Male and Young Female – begins today online at, with fans having the opportunity to vote once a day through Jan. 6, 2003. In addition to voting for the annual Chevy awards, fans can still vote daily for the first annual series of “Best of U.S. Soccer” awards, which were announced last week. The voting deadline for the “Best of…” series is Tuesday, Dec. 31.

For the four Chevy awards, online votes will be tallied and will be equivalent to 50 percent of the total votes. As in years past, 100 votes will be compiled from members of the national media and U.S. Soccer representatives (from National Team coaches to the National Board of Directors). U.S. Soccer, in conjunction with Chevrolet, will then announce the winners at separate press conferences in January.

The 2002 "Best of U.S. Soccer" awards will be decided entirely by online fan votes, with the announcement of the 10 winners to be made during the first week of January.

U.S. Soccer’s Chevy Male and Female Athletes of the Year awards are the oldest and most prestigious awards of their kind, dating back to 1984 for the Men and 1985 for the Women. The finalists for each award were nominated on the basis of: a) competing and excelling at the highest level (both at the National Team level and the professional level) during the calendar year, b) exhibiting decorum on and off the field which reflects well on U.S. Soccer, and c) contributing toward the growth, development, credibility and popularization of soccer in the United States.

U.S. Soccer and Chevy created the Young Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards in 1998 to highlight up-and-coming stars within the U.S. National Team system.

Chevrolet, the largest division of General Motors Corporation, has been a proud sponsor of U.S. Soccer, the U.S. Youth Soccer Association and state soccer associations since 1997.

Listed below are the seven finalists for each of the four Chevy Athlete of the Year awards:

Chevy MALE Athlete of the Year Candidates:
Landon Donovan – F – MNT / San Jose Earthquakes (MLS)
Brad Friedel – GK – MNT / Blackburn Rovers (England)
Cobi Jones – M/F – MNT / Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)
Clint Mathis – F – MNT / MetroStars (MLS)
Brian McBride – F – MNT / Columbus Crew (MLS)
Claudio Reyna – M – MNT / Sunderland (England)
Tony Sanneh – D – MNT / FC Nurnberg (Germany)

Chevy FEMALE Athlete of the Year Candidates:
Mia Hamm – F – WNT / Washington Freedom (WUSA)
Shannon MacMillan – M/F – WNT / San Diego Spirit (WUSA)
Tiffeny Milbrett – F – WNT / New York Power (WUSA)
Cindy Parlow – F – WNT / Atlanta Beat (WUSA)
Briana Scurry – GK – WNT / Atlanta Beat (WUSA)
Danielle Slaton – D – WNT / Carolina Courage (WUSA)
Aly Wagner – M – WNT / Santa Clara (NCAA)

Chevy YOUNG MALE Athlete of the Year Candidates:
Corey Ashe – F – U-17 MNT
Edson Buddle – F – U-23 MNT / Columbus Crew (MLS)
Bobby Convey – M – U-23, U-20 MNT / D.C. United (MLS)
Alecko Eskandarian – F – U-23 MNT / Univ. of Virginia (NCAA)
Guillermo Gonzalez – F – U-17 MNT
Kelly Gray – D – U-23 MNT / Chicago Fire (MLS)
Eddie Johnson – F – U-20 MNT / Dallas Burn (MLS)

Chevy YOUNG FEMALE Athlete of the Year Candidates:
Heather O'Reilly – M/F – WNT, Under-19 WNT
Jill Oakes – D – Under-19 WNT / UCLA (NCAA)
Nandi Pryce – D – Under-21 WNT / UCLA (NCAA)
Cat Reddick – D – WNT, Under-21 WNT / UNC (NCAA)
Hope Solo – GK – WNT, Under-21 WNT / Univ. of Wash. (NCAA)
Lindsay Tarpley – F – Under-19 WNT / UNC (NCAA)
Kelly Wilson – F – Under-19 WNT / Univ. of Texas (NCAA)