US SoccerUS Soccer

2005 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final Set for Los Angeles and FC Dallas

CHICAGO (Thursday, Sept. 15, 2005) – The Home Depot Center will host the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final for the first time on Wednesday, Sept. 28, as the Los Angeles Galaxy host FC Dallas for the right to be named U.S. Soccer’s national champion and a $100,000 cash prize. The match will be televised live on GolTV at 8 p.m. PT. 

Tickets ranging in price levels from $10 to $25 are now on sale through the L.A. Galaxy offices by calling 1-877-3-GALAXY or online at Tickets are also available by phone (213-480-3232 in L.A.; 714-740-2000 in Orange County; 619-220-8497 in San Diego), at all Ticketmaster ticket centers throughout Southern California (including Robinson’s-May, Wherehouse Music and Tower Records), and at the Home Depot Center ticket office.

FC Dallas was the first finalist to book their ticket on Wednesday night with a 1-0 victory over the Chicago Fire. The Fire, champions in 1998, 2000 and 2003, were denied a trip to their third consecutive final. The win for Dallas was their first in their brand new home, Pizza Hut Park. Midfielder Ronnie O’Brien scored the match’s only goal in the 20th minute as he put in his own rebound of a Ramon Nunez cross. The 1997 Open Cup champion as the Burn, Dallas will go into their second all-time final without the services of defensive midfielder Simo Valakari who earned a red card in the 55th minute.

The Galaxy, the other home team on Wednesday, turned the tables on second division team that had been sailing past MLS competition with a 5-2 victory over the Minnesota Thunder (USL1). Landon Donovan had the first Galaxy goal and assisted on the second, and Tyrone Marshall scored the game winner in the 77th minute. Herculez Gomez had a pair of goals, Joseph Ngwenya added another and Cobi Jones had two assists on the night. The Galaxy look to win their second U.S. Open Cup title, having also inscribed their name on the Dewar Cup in 2001.

The match was the final game for the Thunder's Buzz Lagos, the club's long-time head coach who announced his retirement earlier in 2005. The Thunder missed the USL playoffs in 2005 and their magical run in the U.S. Open Cup finished one game short of the final.

The Minnesota Thunder do not walk away empty handed, though, winning the $10,000 prize for being the Division II team that advanced the deepest into the tournament. That sum, as well as the award for the champion, is part of $180,000 in total prize money distributed. The runner up will receive $50,000.

The Des Moines Menace (PDL) have claimed the $10,000 prize as the top amateur team, and three teams from USL2 – the Western Mass Pioneers, the Charlotte Eagles and the Wilmington Hammerheads – split the Division III prize.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, the U.S. Soccer Federation’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer and National Soccer Hall of Fame member Lamar Hunt.

The Open Cup champion has its name inscribed on the base of the Dewar Cup, the three-foot tall, 100 pound trophy that has recognized the tournament champion since its inception after being donated to the American Amateur Football Association in 1912 by British distiller Sir Thomas R. Dewar. The trophy now resides at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y. where it is on permanent display.

#     Date         Teams                                                                                                   Venue     
39  Sept. 14    Minnesota Thunder (USL 1) 2, Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) 5        Home Depot Center; Carson, Calif.
40  Sept. 14    Chicago Fire (MLS) 0, FC Dallas (MLS) 1                                      Pizza Hut Park; Frisco, Texas   

#     Date          Teams                                                                                                   Venue     
41   Sept. 28    FC Dallas at Los Angeles Galaxy                                                     Home Depot Center; Carson, Calif.

F.C. Dallas Advance to Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Finals with 1-0 Victory vs. Chicago

DALLAS (Sept. 14, 2005) - F.C. Dallas defeated the Chicago Fire at Pizza Hut Park in Frisco, Texas, on Wednesday night to advance to their second Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup championship match in the club's 10-year history. Dallas previously won the 1997 U.S. Open Cup crown as the Dallas Burn with a penalty kick victory over D.C. United.

The team's return to the championship game came courtesy of an unassited Ronnie Brown goal in the 20th minute. The three-time U.S. Open Cup champion Chicago Fire were looking to advance to the fourth final in the last eight years, after previously winning titles in 1998, 2000 and 2003.

Match #40: Chicago Fire (MLS) at F.C. Dallas (MLS)
Date: Sept. 14, 2005
Venue: Pizza Hut Park; Frisco, Texas
Kickoff: 7 p.m. CT

Scoring Summary          1     2     F
Chicago Fire                     0     0     0
F.C. Dallas                        1     0     1

Goal Scorers:
FCD - Ronnie O'Brien    20th minute.

Minnesota Thunder's Run Ends at Hand of Los Angeles Galaxy

CARSON, Calif. (Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2005) - The Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) advanced to the final of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup thanks to a 5-2 win the Minnesota Thunder (USL1) at The Home Depot Center on Wednesday night. Herculez Gomez scored a pair of goals, and Cobi Jones picked up a pair of assists to pace the Galaxy to the win. Tyrone Marshall, Landon Donovan, and Joseph Ngwenya rounded out the scoring for the home team.

The match was the final game for the Thunder's Buzz Lagos, the club's long-time head coach who announced his retirement earlier in 2005. The Thunder missed the playoffs in 2005 and their magical run in the U.S. Open Cup finished one game short of the final.

Match #39: Minnesota Thunder (USL1) at Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)
Date: Sept. 14, 2005
Venue: The Home Depot Center; Carson, Calif.
Kickoff: 8 p.m. PT

Scoring Summary                1     2     F
Minnesota Thunder                 0     2     2
Los Angeles Galaxy               2      3     5

Goal Scorers:
LAG - Landon Donovan (Cobi Jones) 29th minute
LAG - Herculez Gomez (Landon Donovan) 44
MIN - John Menyongar (Jay Alberts) 54
LAG - Tyrone Marshall           77
LAG - Herculez Gomez          81
LAG - Joseph Ngwenya (Cobi Jones) 82
MIN - Chad Dombrowski (Jeff Matteo) 85