US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Open Cup Fourth Round Pairings Announced

CHICAGO (Thursday, June 30, 2005) – U.S. Soccer announced the fourth round pairings for the 2005 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup today after the second round matches were played Wednesday night. The final eight teams that will join the tournament – all from Major League Soccer – will play the winners of the July 12 & 13 third round games.

The fourth round is scheduled to be played on Wednesday, Aug. 3. The defending champion Kansas City Wizards (MLS) will being their quest for a repeat with a home match at the Blue Valley Athletic Complex in Overland Park, Kan., vs. either the Atlanta Silverbacks of the USL First Division or the Des Moines Menace of the Premier Development League. A full schedule is listed below.
The second round of the 2005 Open Cup was completed Wednesday night (June 29), with the home team advancing in seven of the eight matches. The USL Second Division Charlotte Eagles were the only road warriors to come away with a victory, an easy 4-1 defeat of the PDL’s El Paso Patriots. Two other PDL clubs playing at home were more fortunate, as the Ocean City Barons crushed the Long Island Rough Riders (USL2) 4-0 after two Long Island players were sent off. The upset of the night, however, came as the amateur Des Moines Menace (PDL) topped the 2004 U.S. Open Cup semifinalist Charleston Battery (USL1) 3-2 on an 80th minute goal by Armin Mujdzic.

Two of the three remaining USASA regional qualifiers fell by 5-0 margins to USL2 opponents as the Western Mass Pioneers and Wilmington Hammerheads advanced past Reggae Boyz and Roma, respectively. The other winners on the night were USL1 sides including the Seattle Sounders, Virginia Beach Mariners and Minnesota Thunder.

Geographical pairings and host proposals received from each club determined match-ups, as they will through the quarterfinals of the tournament. Possible pairings for the quarterfinals will be announced after the completion of the third round.

At stake in the tournament is $180,000 in prize money broken down as follows: $100,000 to the champion, $50,000 to the runner up and $10,000 to the team which advances deepest in the tournament from each of the Division II, Division III and amateur levels. The Des Moines Menace and Ocean City Barons of the PDL have their sights set on the amateur prize as the only amateur teams remaining in contention.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, the U.S. Soccer Federation’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. It is the oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

 2005 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule/Results

Complete Schedule/Results

Second Round

Third Round

Fourth Round

Future Dates
Quarterfinals    Aug. 24  Fourth Round winners
Semifinals    Sept. 14  Quarterfinal winners
Final    Sept. 28  Semifinal winners

Qualified Teams
MLS (12): Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew, D.C. United, FC Dallas, Kansas City Wizards, Los Angeles Galaxy, MetroStars, New England Revolution, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes;

USL Division I (8): Atlanta Silverbacks, Charleston Battery*, Minnesota Thunder, Portland Timbers, Richmond Kickers, Rochester Raging Rhinos, Seattle Sounders, Virginia Beach Mariners

USL Division II (6): Charlotte Eagles, Cincinnati Kings*, Long Island Rough Riders*, Pittsburgh Riverhounds, Western Mass, Wilmington Hammerheads

USL Premier Development League (8): Cascade Surge*, Chicago Fire Premier*, Cocoa Expos*, Des Moines Menace, El Paso Patriots*, Ocean City Barons, Orange County Blue Star*, Richmond Kickers Future* 

USASA (8): AAC Eagles* (Chicago, Ill.), Azzurri FC* (Reg. III; Dallas), Baltimore Colts* (Reg. I; Fallston, Md.), NY Greek American Atlas* (Reg. I; Bayside, N.Y.), Roma* (Reg. III; Garland, Texas), Salinas Valley Samba* (Reg. IV; Salinas, Calif.), Sonoma County Sol* (Reg. IV; Santa Rosa, Calif.), Indiana Reggae Boyz* (Reg. II; Indianapolis, Ind.)
*Indicate eliminated team