US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Power Soccer Team Wins 2011 FIPFA World Cup

PARIS (Nov. 14, 2011) – The U.S. Power Soccer team won the 2011 FIPFA World Cup for the second straight time with a 3-0 victory against England. Power Soccer is a sport for severely disabled people who use power wheelchairs.

The eight-member team, led by head coach Chris Finn, beat France 2-0 in the semifinals before defeating England two days later on Nov. 6 in the final.

The single game elimination tournament included a total of 10 countries from four different continents. The U.S. defeated Japan 2-0 and Portugal 13-0 in their opening games. A day later, the team fell 1-0 to England but still advanced to the semifinals with a 21-0 victory against Switzerland.

The U.S. Power Soccer Team is the first U.S. Soccer team to win back-to-back World Cups. The USA defeated France in the 2007 FIPFA World Cup to win the inaugural title in Tokyo.

The U.S. players faced tough competition but remained positive and determined throughout the tournament. This success is due in part to their resilience and managing adversity in their everyday lives. These athletes are an inspiration to others who believe they can’t play a sport because of a disability.

In power soccer, instead of the players using their feet, they use wheelchairs and foot guards to push or kick the ball. Two teams of four play on a regulation basketball court in a fast-paced contest that has been spreading rapidly across the world.

Team USA is comprised of team members from all over the United States. At their own expense, team members would meet at different locations to practice as a team and inspire each other to be better athletes and accomplish goals on and off the court.

The United States Power Soccer Team includes:
Kendra Scalia-Carrow, Oakland Calif.
Omar Solorio, Hollister Calif.
Case Calvert, Indianapolis Ind.
Jordan Dickey, Pendleton Ind.
Katie Dickey, Pendleton Ind.
J.C. Russo, Carmel Ind.
Michael Archer, Greenwood Ind.
Pete Winslow, Woodbury Minn.

Tournament results were as follows:
1. USA
2. England
3. France
4. Belgium
5. Japan
6. Canada
7. Australia
8. Portugal
9. Ireland
10. Switzerland