US SoccerUS Soccer
Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach

Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan Named to Shortlist for FIFA Women's World Player of the Year

CHICAGO (Oct. 25, 2013) – FIFA, the world governing body of soccer, announced today that U.S. Women’s National Team forwards Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan have been named to a 10-woman shortlist for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year.

The shortlists for the men’s awards will be announced next week.

Last year, Wambach won the award for the first time and became just the second American to be so honored after Mia Hamm won in 2001 and 2002, the first two years in which it was given out.

Wambach finished third in the voting in 2011, the first time she was in the final three for the award, and also finished third in 2012. She finished fourth in the voting in 2004 and 2006, fifth in 2007, was one of the final 10 in 2009 and was fifth again in 2010.

This is Morgan’s third appearance on the shortlist. Last year, she finished third behind Wambach and Marta of Brazil, and in 2011, she finished eighth in the voting.

The final votes will be cast, as usual, by the captains and head coaches of the women’s national teams, as well as by international media representatives selected by FIFA.

The winners of all of the FIFA women’s and men’s awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on Jan. 13, 2014.

The list of 10 female players was drawn up by experts from FIFA’s Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup, as well as a group of experts from France Football.

In addition, former U.S. Women’s National Team star Cindy Parlow Cone, who led the Portland Thorns to the inaugural NWSL title, was named to the shortlist for FIFA Women’s World Coach of the Year.

In early December, FIFA and France Football will announce the names of the three women and three men, as well as the three coaches for women’s soccer and three coaches for men’s soccer, who have received the most votes (without unveiling the winners).

The following 10 women (in alphabetical order) are contenders for the title of 2013 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year:

Nadine Angerer (Germany)

Nilla Fischer (Sweden)

Lena Goessling (Germany)

Saki Kumagai (Japan)

Marta (Brazil)

Alex Morgan (USA)

Yuki Ogimi (Japan)

Lotta Schelin (Sweden)

Christine Sinclair (Canada)

Abby Wambach (USA)

The following 10 coaches (in alphabetical order, giving first nationality and then team in brackets) are contenders for the 2013 FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football:

Gilles Eyquem (France / France U-19 National Team)

Kenneth Heiner-Møller (Denmark / Denmark National Team)

Ralf Kellermann (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

Shelley Kerr (Scotland / Arsenal Ladies FC)

Patrice Lair (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Silvia Neid (Germany / Germany National Team)

Cindy Parlow Cone (USA / Portland Thorns FC)

Even Pellerud (Norway / Norway National Team)

Anna Signeul (Sweden / Scotland National Team)

Pia Sundhage (Sweden / Sweden National Team)