US SoccerUS Soccer
open cup medals

Philadelphia Union or FC Dallas to Host 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final

Coin Flip took Place Monday Night at Portland, Host Site of Wednesday’s MLS All-Star Game

CHICAGO (Aug. 5, 2014) – The 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final Draw took place Monday night, with the Philadelphia Union-FC Dallas semifinal winner earning the right to host this year’s championship game of the 101st edition of the tournament.

The U.S. Open Cup Final will be held on one of three possible dates – Sept. 16, Sept. 17 or Oct. 1. The match will be broadcast live on GolTV.

The draw took place live on the Men In Blazers program hosted by Roger Bennett and Michael Davies at the Pioneer Courthouse Square in Portland, the host location of the 2014 Major League Soccer All-Star Game.

U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati flipped the ceremonial coin, which landed on tails to award the Philadelphia-FC Dallas semifinal winner with the right to host.

All four U.S. Open Cup semifinal teams had a representative on the stage for the draw: Brian Bliss (Chicago Fire Technical Director), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union and U.S. National Team midfielder), Luiz Muzzi (FC Dallas Director of Soccer Operations) and Chris Henderson (Seattle Sounders FC Sporting Director).

U.S. Soccer will broadcast the U.S. Open Cup semifinal match between Chicago and Seattle as its “Game of the Round” coverage resumes on The game kicks off at 7:30 p.m. PT on Wednesday, Aug. 13, at the Starfire Soccer Complex in Tukwila, Washington. Philadelphia and FC Dallas meet in their semifinal match at 8 p.m. CT on Tuesday, Aug. 12, at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

Semifinal Round Schedule





Aug. 12

Philadelphia Union at FC Dallas

8 p.m. CT

Toyota Stadium; Frisco, Texas

Aug. 13

Chicago Fire at Seattle Sounders FC

7:30 p.m. PT

Starfire Soccer Complex; Tukwila, Wash.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Club Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 100 consecutive years dating back to 1914. This year’s winner will earn $250,000, a berth in the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions’ League and have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, one of the oldest nationally contested trophies in American team sports. The runner-up will take home $60,000. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor American soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

Monday’s Men in Blazers show was part of the festivities leading up to the 2014 MLS All-Star match against Bayern Munich on Wednesday, Aug. 6 (6:30 p.m. PT; ESPN2, UniMas).