Goalkeeper Matt Freese and Defender Donovan Pines to Replace Goalkeeper David Ochoa and Defender Julian Araujo at U-23 USMNT January Camp

Ochoa Suffered Right Quad Injury Prior to Camp; Araujo Withdraws with Illness

CHICAGO (Jan. 9, 2020)—Two changes have been made to the roster for the upcoming U.S. Under-23 Men’s National Team training camp in Bradenton, Fla.


Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Matt Freese will replace Real Salt Lake goalkeeper David Ochoa, who suffered a right quad injury prior to arrival in camp. D.C. United defender Donovan Pines will replace LA Galaxy defender Julian Araujo, who withdrew from the roster due to illness.


The U-23s will train alongside the senior USMNT through January 24, at which point several

U-23 players will be elevated to the full USMNT roster in advance of a planned match at the end of the month.


Freese has appeared in three matches for the U-23 USMNT, allowing just one goal in 180 minutes of play. A Homegrown Player with the Philadelphia Union, he has been selected to the last four U-23 rosters, dating back to Sept. 2019. The goalkeeper spent most of the 2020 season with Union II in the USL Championship, while making one appearance for the first team.


Pines made big strides in his sophomore season with D.C. United, appearing in 16 matches and scoring three goals. Signed as a Homegrown Player in 2019, he was the youngest player to log more than 1200 minutes this season for D.C. The defender has appeared in three matches for the U-23 USMNT and January marks his third call-up to the team after previous appearances in March and Sept. 2019.



Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Brady Scott (Austin FC)

George Bello (Atlanta United FC), Chris Gloster (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake), Aboubacar Keita (Columbus Crew SC), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire), Donovan Pines (D.C. United), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United FC), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids)

Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United FC), Bryang Kayo (Wolfsburg/GER), Andrés Perea* (Orlando City SC), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Daryl Dike (Orlando City SC), Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC), Djordje Mihailovic (Montreal Impact/CAN)



*Player is currently ineligible to represent the United States

Go Deeper