2014 Hall of Fame Induction to be Held Feb. 14 During AGM in San Francisco

Kristine Lilly, Brian McBride and Former U.S. MNT Head Coach Bob Bradley will be Inducted as Class of 2014
2014 HOF Inductees
2014 HOF Inductees

CHICAGO (Jan. 13, 2015) – Former U.S. Women’s National Team midfielder Kristine Lilly, Men’s National Team forward Brian McBride and former U.S. MNT and Major League Soccer head coach Bob Bradley will be inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame on Saturday, Feb. 14, during the U.S. Soccer Federation Annual General Meeting in San Francisco.

The induction ceremony will take place at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis as part of the AGM Anniversary Dinner. McBride and Lilly will be in attendance, but Bradley will be unable to attend due to his responsibilities as the manager of Stabaek in Norway.

Lilly, the sport’s all-time international caps leader, having played 352 games for the United States from 1987-2010, and McBride, who starred in three FIFA World Cups (1998, 2002 and 2006) for the U.S. MNT, are first-ballot Hall of Fame inductees. Bradley enters the Hall of Fame as a Builder after coaching soccer at the highest levels in the United States.

Lilly enters the Hall of Fame after appearing in international competition for 21 different years over a 24-year span. She won two of the five FIFA Women’s World Cups in which she played. A two-time Olympic gold medalist, Lilly played six seasons in domestic professional leagues, including five for the Boston Breakers in the Women’s United Soccer Association and Women’s Professional Soccer.

McBride enters the Hall of Fame as one of the most lauded Americans in the history of European club soccer. From 1993-2006, McBride earned 95 caps with the U.S., and his 30 international goals helped the team reach the semifinals of the 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup, claim the 2002 CONCACAF Gold Cup title and reach the quarterfinals of the 2002 FIFA World Cup – the best finish by the team in the modern era. McBride played 11 seasons in MLS with the Columbus Crew (1996-2003) and Chicago Fire (2008-10), as well as seven seasons with three English teams, including five with Fulham, where he was named captain in his final season.

As head coach of the U.S. MNT, Bradley guided the team to the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup title, the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup final and a first-place finish in Group C at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. As an MLS head coach, Bradley brought success to the Chicago Fire from 1998-2002, winning an MLS Cup (1998) and the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup twice (1998, 2002) before coaching the New York/New Jersey MetroStars from 2003-05 and Chivas USA in 2006.

The Colin Jose Media Award nomination committee determined there will not be an award given this year.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame election process is administered by U.S. Soccer Federation staff under election and eligibility guidelines established by the Hall of Fame Board of Directors. Established in 1950, the National Soccer Hall of Fame is dedicated to the sport of soccer in America by celebrating its history, preserving its legacy, inspiring its youth and honoring its heroes for generations to come.