Defender Kyle Duncan Added to U-23 USMNT January Camp Roster; Arrival Tests Reveal One Positive Test for Covid-19

CHICAGO (Jan. 11, 2020)— New York Red Bulls defender Kyle Duncan has been added to the

U-23 MNT roster for its training camp in Bradenton, Fla.


U.S. Soccer has also confirmed that an Under-23 Men’s National Team player has tested positive for COVID-19 upon arrival to training camp.


The player who tested positive is in isolation and observing the appropriate quarantine protocols. His positive test came during U.S. Soccer’s camp arrival testing procedures. All of his pre-arrival tests were negative.


No other members of the delegation have tested positive at this time. Per protocol, U.S. Soccer is conducting contact tracing for any high-risk contacts. 


Duncan appeared for the U-23s vs. Japan in Sept. 2019 and has been called to two other training camps with the team. He made major strides this season with New York, leading the Red Bulls in minutes played, making 24 appearances and scoring three goals.


The defender earned his first cap with the senior USMNT during the team’s December victory against El Salvador in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.


As always, U.S. Soccer’s top priority is the health and safety of its players and staff. U.S. Soccer is committed to following the health practices outlined by the CDC and in the U.S. Soccer Return to Play protocols.



Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Brady Scott (Austin FC)

George Bello (Atlanta United FC), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls), Chris Gloster (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake), Aboubacar Keita (Columbus Crew SC), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire), Donovan Pines (D.C. United), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United FC), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids)

Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United FC), Bryang Kayo (Wolfsburg/GER), Andrés Perea* (Orlando City SC), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Daryl Dike (Orlando City SC), Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC), Djordje Mihailovic (Montreal Impact/CAN)