U.S. U-16 MYNT Kicks Off New Cycle with 24-Player Training Camp in Southern California

U-19 MYNT Head Coach Michael Nsien Will Lead Training Camp from Nov. 12-19

CHICAGO (Nov. 11, 2023) – The U.S. Under-16 Men’s Youth National Team will hold its first training camp of the 2023-24 cycle from Nov. 12-19 at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif.

Players born on or after Jan. 1, 2008 are age-eligible for this one-year cycle. The roster features 23 players born in 2008 and one born in 2009- Philadelphia Union forward Cavan Sullivan.

U-19 MYNT head coach Michael Nsien, who served as U-16 MYNT head coach from Nov. 2022-Sept. 2023 will lead the training camp. Fourteen clubs are represented on the roster, including 13 from Major League Soccer. Three players each were called up from LAFC, Philadelphia Union, New York Red Bulls and Real Salt Lake.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brooks Doolittle (San Jose Earthquakes), Luca Maxim (Orlando City SC), Owen Pratt (LA Galaxy)

DEFENDERS (8): Miguel Alvardo (Colorado Rapids), Sebasthian Chavez (New York Red Bulls), Christopher Cupps (Chicago Fire FC), Charly Dealmonte (Nashville SC), Camron Estala (Real Salt Lake), Pedro Guimaraes (LAFC), Adrian Sanders (LAFC), Gio Villa (Real Salt Lake)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Peter Doran (Philadelphia Union), Landon Emenalo (Chelsea/ENG), Liam Lambert (LAFC), Brett Phan (LA Galaxy) Cristiano Oliveira (New England Revolution), Cavan Sullivan (Philadelphia Union), Isaac Tortola (Columbus Crew)

FORWARDS (6): Chase Adams (Columbus Crew), Julian Hall (New York Red Bulls), Jamir Johnson (Philadelphia Union), Tanner Rosborough (New York Red Bulls), Axel Uriostegui (Real Salt Lake), Zidane Yanez (New York City FC)

Last summer, the 2008-birth year age group took home the USA’s first Concacaf Boys’ U-15 Championship in the Dominican Republic, capping off a strong campaign with a 4-2 win against Mexico in the tournament final.

Sullivan won the Golden Ball as the competition’s best player and 13 of the 18 players return from the tournament roster: goalkeeper Owen Pratt, defenders Miguel Alvarado, Sebasthian Chavez, Pedro Guimares, Adrian Sanders and Gio Villa, midfielders Peter Doran, Sullivan and Isaac Tortola plus forwards Chase Adams, Julian Hall, Jamir Jonshon and Tanner Rosborough. 

Go Deeper