Wambach, Rampone, and O'Hara Named Honorary Starters for 57th Annual Daytona 500

Abby Wambach, Christie Rampone, and Kelley O'Hara Named Honorary Starters for 57th Annual Daytona 500
Daytona500 Abby Wambach Christie Rampone Kelley O'Hara
Daytona500 Abby Wambach Christie Rampone Kelley O'Hara

CHICAGO (Feb. 15, 2015) – The U.S. Women’s National Team has been named the Honorary Starter of the 57th Annual DAYTONA 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series set to take place on Sunday, Feb. 22 at 1 p.m. ET at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. NASCAR’s biggest race will be broadcast live on FOX, FOX Deportes and can be heard on the radio through MRN Radio and SiriusXM.

Forward Abby Wambach, defender Kelley O’Hara and WNT captain Christie Rampone will serve as the team’s representatives during the event and be the day’s Honorary Starters for the 200-lap, 500-mile race that kicks off the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season. Additionally, the trio will be introduced at the driver’s meeting and participate in pre-race ceremonies.

“We’re honored to welcome three members of the U.S. Women’s National Team as Honorary Starters for the DAYTONA 500,” Daytona International Speedway President Joie Chitwood III said. “We’re looking forward to have these phenomenal athletes wave the green flag on both ‘The Great American Race’ as well as the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season.”

This summer, the USA will face Australia, Sweden and Nigeria in Group D at the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The USA opens against Australia on June 8 at Winnipeg Stadium, followed by Sweden on June 12 in Winnipeg and Nigeria on June 16 at BC Place in Vancouver. 

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup runs from June 6-July 5 and all 52 games will be shown live on FOX, FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2 and on tablets and mobile devices through the FOX Sports GO app and FOXSportsGO.com.

Past DAYTONA 500 Honorary Starters include actor and humanitarian Gary Sinise, NASCAR Hall of Famers Bobby Allison and Richard Petty, NFL legend Ray Lewis and comedian Whoopi Goldberg.

Tickets for the 57th annual DAYTONA 500 and all Budweiser Speedweeks 2015 events are on sale now and can be purchased by calling 1-800-PITSHOP or visiting www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com.

Fans can follow NASCAR on Twitter and stay up to speed on the latest news by using hashtag #DAYTONA500 and #SPEEDWEEKS. Fans can also stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Facebook and Pinterest for the latest news all season long and follow the latest on DAYTONA Rising, the $400 million frontstretch renovation at the “World Center of Racing” by using #DAYTONARising or visiting www.daytonarising.com.