Mexico Names 25-Player Roster for Kickoff Series Clash vs. U.S. MNT

25-man Mexico roster features seven players that took part in the 2018 FIFA World Cup
By: Jeff Crandall
Mexico announced its roster for the next edition of the region’s biggest rivalry, this time coming in the Kickoff Series clash on Tuesday, Sept. 11 at Nissan Stadium in Nashvllle, Tenn. El Trí interim head coach Ricardo Ferretti has called up 25 players for the September camp, where they will take on Uruguay on Sept. 7 in Houston before USA-Mexico, presented by AT&T, four days later. 

The Mexico squad features seven players that took part in this summer’s FIFA World Cup, including long-time goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa, defender Carlos Salcedo, LA Galaxy midfielder Jonathan dos Santos, and attackers Hirving Lozano and Raúl Jiménez.

With his squad’s average age coming in at 24 years, 204 days, Ferretti has balanced that experience by summoning 16 players aged 24 and under. 

U.S. head coach Dave Sarachan will announce his roster on Sunday, Sept. 2, and with the MNT boss expected to call in another youthful roster, the September clash in Nashville should mark the next chapter in the storied rivalry between the two countries.

DETAILED ROSTER BY POSITION (Club; 2018 World Cup players listed in bold)

GOALKEEPERS (3): Hugo González (Necaxa), Gibrán Lajud (Tijuana), Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liège/BEL)

DEFENDERS (8): José Abella (Santos Laguna), Oswaldo Alanís (Real Oviedo/ESP), Edson Álvarez (Club América), Jesús Angulo (Tijuana), Gerardo Arteaga (Santos Laguna), Jesús Gallardo (Monterrey), Luis Rodríguez (Tigres UANL), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Erick Aguirre (Pachuca), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy/USA), Jonathan González (Monterrey) Erick Gutiérrez (Pachuca), Víctor Guzmán (Pachuca), Elías Hernández (Cruz Azul), Diego Lainez (Club América), Orbelín Pineda (Guadalajara)

FORWARDS (5): Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Raúl Jiménez (Wolverhampton Wanderers/ENG), Rodolfo Pizarro (Monterrey), Alan Pulido (Guadalajara), Ángel Zaldívar (Guadalajara)