Jackson Hopkins Replaces Obed Vargas On USA’s Concacaf U-20 Championship Roster

D.C. United Midfielder Added After Vargas Forced to Withdraw Due to Injury

CHICAGO (June 24, 2022) – U.S. Under-20 Men’s Youth National Team midfielder Obed Vargas has been ruled out of the 2022 Concacaf Under-20 Championship due to a back injury. After Concacaf granted U.S. Soccer’s request to have Vargas replaced, D.C. United midfielder Jackson Hopkins has been added to the 20-player roster for the competition.


Per tournament regulations, an injured player may be replaced in the event of injury after the group stage of the competition. The replacement must come from the 60-player provisional roster.


Hopkins trained with the U-20 MYNT in Honduras prior to the tournament as an alternate. The 17-year-old midfielder signed as a Homegrown Player with D.C. in April and made his MLS debut this season, appearing in six matches across all competitions. He’s also played five games for Loudoun United in the USL Championship this year.


The USA kicks off the knockout stage of the Concacaf U-20 Championship on Saturday, June 25 vs. Nicaragua (8:30 p.m. ET; Vix and Concacaf App, Facebook & YouTube).



GOALKEEPERS (2): Christopher Brady (Chicago Fire FC; Naperville, Ill.; 3/0), Antonio Carrera (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas; 1/0)

DEFENDERS (6): Noah Allen (Inter Miami CF; Miramar, Fla.; 2/0), Brandan Craig (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.; 3/0), Mauricio Cuevas (Club Brugge/BEL; Los Angeles, Calif.; 4/1), Marcus Ferkranus (LA Galaxy; Santa Clarita, Calif.; 3/0), Michael Halliday (Orlando City SC; Apopka, Fla.; 3/0), Jalen Neal (LA Galaxy; Lakewood, Calif.; 5/0)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.; 6/3), Alejandro Alvarado Jr. (FC Vizela/POR; Los Angeles, Calif.; 2/0), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls; Wayzata, Minn.; 6/2), Daniel Edelman (New York Red Bulls; Warren, N.J.; 4/0), Jackson Hopkins (D.C. United; Fredericksburg, Va.; 0/0), Diego Luna (Real Salt Lake; Sunnyvale, Calif.; 6/1), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Middle Village, N.Y.; 6/1), Rokas Pukstas (Hajduk Split/CRO; Sillwater, Okla.; 6/1), Niko Tsakiris (San Jose Earthquakes; Saratoga, Calif.; 2/2)

FORWARDS (3): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.; 5/2), Quinn Sullivan (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.; 5/4), Tyler Wolff (Atlanta United FC; Braselton, Ga.; 4/1)

Go Deeper