Tony Quinn Named 2019 Colin Jose Media Award Winner

Legendary Photographer Will be Honored at the 2019 National Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Sept. 21 in Frisco, Texas
CHICAGO (Sept. 5, 2019) – Long-time soccer photographer Tony Quinn has been named recipient of the 2019 Colin Jose Media Award. Quinn will be honored at the 2019 National Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will be held Sept. 21 at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas. The Ceremony will also feature the induction of National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2019 inductees Sunil Gulati and Abby Wambach.

“I was flabbergasted and over the moon, two nice British expressions,” said Quinn about hearing the news of his selection. “And I’ve never been flabbergasted and over the moon at the same time before. I’ve been doing it so long, I just didn’t think it was that long and that I’ve been involved for all those years.”
A native of England, Quinn has had photography assignments in 54 different countries and territories. Shooting mainly sports, he has also covered politics and civil strife in South and Central America as a staff photographer for El Diario Latino in Washington, D.C., winning best photographer for the National Association of Hispanic Newspapers in 1994. Quinn had moved to the Virginia-D.C. area in 1962, and his presence on the sidelines of the soccer fields has been a constant ever since. He was inducted into the Virginia-D.C. Soccer Hall of Fame in 2016.
His first nationally published photograph was of 17-year-old Sonny Askew after scoring for the Washington Diplomates of the North American Soccer League in 1974. Before then, Quinn had started his work as a photojournalist with Connection, a chain of community newspapers in Northern Virginia. Aside from covering the NASL, American Soccer League, Women’s United Soccer Association, and various other soccer leagues in the area, Quinn was the primary sports photographer for major local universities, including Georgetown, as well as for D.C. United (Major League Soccer) and the Washington Spirit (National Women’s Soccer League). Quinn has covered four FIFA World Cups, three Olympic Games, two Copa Americas, as well as countless College Cups and Concacaf Gold Cups.

“It’s just wonderful,” Quinn said of being part of the induction ceremony that will honor the 2019 National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of Sunil Gulati and Abby Wambach, “To be in the same group as Sunil. He and I spent a lot of time together; and Abby Wambach, I was there when she was drafted into the WUSA.”

As the 12th recipient of the Colin Jose award, Quinn is only the second photojournalist to be honored and the first since 2007 when George Tiedemann won the award.

The Colin Jose Media Award was created to honor the contributions of members of the print and electronic media, including reporters, columnists, authors, broadcasters, editors, public/media relations professionals and others who specialize in communications with respect to soccer in the United States. The award is named for Colin Jose, Historian Emeritus of the National Soccer Hall of Fame and the preeminent soccer historian of North America.

Past Colin Jose Media Award Recipients

  • 2019 - Tony Quinn, Photojournalist

  • 2018 - JP Dellacamera, FOX and other television broadcasters

  • 2017 - Jim Trecker, Media Relations

  • 2016 - Paul Kennedy, Soccer America Print Media

  • 2013 - George Vecsey, New York Times Print Media

  • 2012 - Grahame Jones, Los Angeles Times Print Media

  • 2010 - Paul Gardner, Soccer America Print Media

  • 2009 - Alex Yannis, New York Times Print Media

  • 2008 - Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger Print Media

  • 2007 - George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated/Freelance Photography

  • 2005 - Seamus Malin, ESPN and other television broadcasters

  • 2004 - Jerry Trecker, Hartford Courant Print Media