New Year for YNT U-14 TID Program Kicks Off With West Region Mini-Camp in Chula Vista, Calif.

Seventy-Nine Players Gather at Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center Outside San Diego from Feb. 20-24
U.S. Soccer Red Chevron Pattern Graphic
U.S. Soccer Red Chevron Pattern Graphic

CHICAGO (Feb. 20, 2020)-- The U.S. Soccer Youth National Teams Under-14 Talent Identification Program will kick off 2020 with its West Region Mini-Camp. Seventy-nine players will come together at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. from Feb. 20-24.

The training camp kicks off the second year of U.S. Soccer’s new U-14 program, designed to discover and introduce a larger base of top talents into the scouting funnel for the U-15 to U-20 YNTs. It functions as a collaboration between the Federation’s Talent Identification department (TID) and the Youth National Teams. The program was introduced for girls earlier this year.

READ MORE: U.S. Soccer Launches New YNT U-14 Talent Identification Program

U.S. Soccer to Hold First YNT U-14 TID Girls Regional Mini-Camp of 2020 as 60 Players Head to Chula Vista, Calif.

During the camp, 79 players from the West Region will make up teams based on the area’s four defined scouting regions: Northwest, Northern California, LA and Southwest. U.S. Soccer staff, including Director of TID Tony Lepore and the boys’ TID Managers will run the camp, while the four teams will be coached by YNT Network Scouts and U.S. Soccer Development Academy coaches from the four respective scouting areas. After a day of training, the four teams will play each other in round-robin competition.

In addition to the on-field competition, the mini-camp will focus on off-field education. Players will be introduced to YNT principles of play, position profiles and goal-setting to help them take responsibility for their own development.

The majority of the players called into the West Mini-Camp were identified at last fall’s Development Academy West Regional Showcase and were further evaluated at YNT Identification Centers as part of the scouting process prior to being selected for this camp.

The 79 players in the training camp come from 31 different clubs with multiple players coming from LAFC (eight), LA Galaxy (seven), San Jose Earthquakes (seven), Crossfire Premier (four), De Anza Force (four), Portland Timbers (four), Real Salt Lake Arizona (four), Sacramento Republic FC (four), City SC Carlsbad (three), San Diego Surf (three), Total Futbol Academy (three), Albion SC (two), LV Pros (two), Marin FC (two), Pac NW (two), SC del Sol (two), Seattle Sounders FC (two), Silicon Valley Soccer Academy (two) and Washington Premier FC (two).

Regional mini-camps for the Central and East will be held later this spring.

YNT U-14 TID West Mini-Camp Roster by Position (Club)

GOALKEEPERS (8): Alejandro Caracheo Jr. (Silicon Valley Soccer Academy), Beckett Hobbs (Crossfire Premier), Mateo Lopez (San Jose Earthquakes), Diego Martinez (Los Angeles Football Club), Juan Martinez (LA Galaxy), Aaron Meono (Los Angeles Football Club), Trevor Wilson (Crossfire Premier), Maldini Zanayed (Albion SC)

Christian Arseni (De Anza Force), Lorenzo Avalos (San Jose Earthquakes), Luca Bambino (Los Angeles Football Club), Carter Burrup (Real Salt Lake Arizona), Jonas Canales (LV Pros), Cole Capriotti (Pac NW), Marcello Chang (Silicon Valley Soccer Academy), Riley Dalgado (LA Galaxy), Christian Diaz (Total Futbol Academy), Michael Dunne (Portland Timbers), Raul Elizarraraz (SC del Sol), Leonardo Espinoza (FC Golden State), Max Friends (Washington Premier FC), Chris Grote (Real Salt Lake Arizona), Jaden Jackson (Sacramento United), Sawyer Jura (Portland Timbers), Allan Legaspi (LA Galaxy), Erick Luna (San Jose Earthquakes), Connor Luoto (San Diego Surf), Nathan Morales (Nomads SC), Alex Perez (Heat FC), Tamir Ratoviz (Real So Cal), Angel Robles (LV Pros), Javen Romero (Los Angeles Football Club), Oscar Verhoeven (San Jose Earthquakes), Cameron Williams (OC Surf Soccer Club), Ermias Yohannes (Sacramento Republic FC)

Izahi Amparo (Real Salt Lake Arizona), Allen Aquino (City SC Carlsbad), Christopher Aquino (Seattle Sounders FC), Danny Cortes (Tijuana/MEX), Carlos Diaz-Arreola (Washington Premier FC), Cam Doucette (Albion SC), Taj Eagleston (LA Galaxy), Victor Enriquez (Portland Timbers), Stuart Hawkins (Pac NW), Omar Ibarra (SC del Sol), Aidan Martin (Total Futbol Academy), Edwyn Mendoza (San Jose Earthquakes), John Middleton (De Anza Force), Diego Orosco (San Diego Surf), Colin Pearce (De Anza Force), Justin Prada (Los Angeles Football Club), Jose Ponce (Sacramento Republic FC), Pierce Rizzo (Phoenix Rising FC), Paulo Rudisil (LA Galaxy), Mateo Salcedo (Sacramento Republic FC), Morris Spaltenstein (LA Galaxy), Senshin Suzuki (Crossfire Premier), David Vasquez (Total Futbol Academy), Adrian Wilbowo (Los Angeles Football Club), Milo Wray (Portland Timbers)

Sawyer Crisostomo (Downtown Las Vegas Soccer Club), Patrick Dormoh (Crossfire Premier), Diego Doyle (Marin FC), Isaac Emojong (Sacramento Republic FC), Zen Franco (Los Angeles Football Club), Gabriel Garcia (Los Angeles Football Club), Saul Garcia (LA Galaxy), Sebastian Gomez (Seattle United), Brian Guillen (Pateadores), Havelange Jean-Desire (City SC Carlsbad), Michael Luande (Seattle Sounders FC), Cruz Medina (San Jose Earthquakes), Angel Montesinos (City SC Carlsbad), Evan Pickering (San Diego Surf), Noah Segura (Real Salt Lake Arizona), Jermaine Spivey (San Jose Earthquakes), Jordi Tortell (De Anza Force), Etienne Veillard (Federal Way FC), Malcom Zalayet (Marin FC)

Go Deeper