Fans and Five Member Committee Set to Select 2023 Visa SheBelieves Cup MVP

2023 Visa SheBelieves Cup Selection Committee to Select Finalists for Fourth Annual Award

As the 2023 SheBelieves Cup, presented by Visa heads into its final matchday on Wednesday, February 22 with Canada taking on the Japan (4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT on HBO Max, Universo and Peacock) and the USA facing off against Brazil (7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT on TNT, HBO Max, Universo and Peacock), the competition for the Visa SheBelieves Cup MVP is intensifying.


For the fourth year in a row, Visa, the presenting sponsor of the SheBelieves Cup, will award the MVP trophy to the most outstanding player of the tournament. The award will be announced following the conclusion of the final match and with the input of a selection committee comprised of representatives from all four competing nations.

For the third year in a row, fans will also get the opportunity to vote for the Visa SheBelieves Cup MVP award using an online ballot to select among a list of finalists chosen by the committee. The fan vote will be incorporated into the overall determination of the 2023 Visa SheBelieves Cup MVP.

Spain attacker Alexia Putellas won the inaugural award in 2020 while the USA’s Rose Lavelle collected the honors in 2021 and fellow American Catarina Macario took home top honors in 2022.

This year’s selection committee is comprised of:

Jene Baclawski – Committee Chair

Baclawski, who previously served as head coach of the Saint Kitts and Nevis Women’s National Team and was the technical director for the South Texas Youth Soccer Association, is a Senior Coach Educator for U.S. Soccer and holds a USSF “A” Coaching License.


Heather O’Reilly - USA

One of the most accomplished players in USWNT history, O’Reilly retired from international soccer in 2016 following an illustrious career in which she appeared in three World Cups and won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup title and won three Olympic gold medals. O’Reilly finished her career with 231 caps, 47 international goals and 55 assists.


Sisleide Lima Do Amor – Brazil
More commonly known as Sissi, the dynamic midfielder was one of the early stars in Brazil Women’s National Team history. Sissi represented Brazil at the 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup and against 1999 World Cup, where she shared the Golden Boot as the tournament’s top scorer with seven goals and three assists. Since ending her playing career, she has served as a coach in the California Bay Area.

Desiree Scott – Canada
A 2021 Olympic gold medalist and two-time Olympic bronze medalist in 2012 and 2016, Scott has 185 career appearances for the Canada Women’s National Team and has had a long career in professional women’s soccer, most recently helping the Kansas City Current to the 2022 NWSL Championship Game.

Norio Sasaki – Japan
Japan’s head of delegation at this year’s tournament, Sasaki was the longtime head coach of the Japan Women’s National Team, coaching the team from 2008 to 2016. During that span he coach Japan to victory at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup, the 2012 Olympic gold medal game and the 2015 World Cup final.