Full Slate of 32 Open Division Underdogs Set for 2024 Open Cup

All 32 Open Division amateurs set to kick off the 2024 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup’s First Round (March 19-21) are now known, following U.S. Soccer’s announcement of the contenders from the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) and USL League 2.

The 32 Open Division underdogs who will kick off the 2024 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup First Round between March 19 and 21 have been confirmed by U.S. Soccer.

The 11 victorious Open Division Local Qualifiers – who survived four Qualifying Rounds between September and November of this year – are joined by 2023 USASA National Amateur Cup winner SC MesoAmerica, AS Frenzi (the 2023 Spring champions of the United Premier Soccer League), eight teams from the National Premier Soccer League and 11 more from USL League 2.

Among the potential Cinderellas for 2024 are 2017 heroes Christos FC of Baltimore and Chicago House AC – who reached the Third Round of the 2023 Open Cup. Tulsa Athletic – who received the $25,000 prize as the Open Division team to reach farthest in the 2023 tournament – are back in action for 2024 alongside fellow NPSL sides and Open Cup regulars West Chester United and FC Motown.

USL League 2 debutants Vermont Green FC and Ballard FC join the party this year, with league-mates – and Open Cup legends – Des Moines Menace back in action.

Complete Open Division Field for 2024 U.S. Open Cup

USASA National Amateur Cup Winner (1)
SC MesoAmerica (California / Liga Deportiva Morazan / USASA)

UPSL (Spring Champion) (1)
AS Frenzi (Florida / UPSL)

Open Division Local Qualifiers (11)
Azteca FC (Colorado / Colorado Premier League / USSSA-Soccer)
Chicago House AC (Illinois / Midwest Premier League / USASA)
Christos FC (Maryland / Maryland Super Soccer League/ USASA)
FC America CFL Spurs (Florida / United States Soccer League / USSSA-Soccer)
FORO SC (Texas / UPSL)
SCU Heat (South Carolina / UPSL)
Brockton FC United (Massachusetts / UPSL)
Vereinigung Erzgebirge (Pennsylvania / United Soccer League of Pa. / USASA)
Miami United FC (Florida / United States Soccer League / USSSA-Soccer)
FC Folsom (California / UPSL)
Irvine Zeta FC (California / UPSL)

NPSL (8)

Tulsa Athletic (Oklahoma / USASA)
Apotheos FC (Georgia / USASA)
West Chester United SC (Pennsylvania / USASA)
El Farolito (California / USASA)
Steel City FC (Pennsylvania / / USASA)
FC Motown (New Jersey / USASA)
Lubbock Matadors (Texas / USASA)
Duluth FC (Minnesota / USASA)

USL League 2 (11)

Ballard FC (Washington)
Chicago City (Illinois)
Asheville City (North Carolina)
Salem City (Formerly NC Fusion, North Carolina)
Brave SC (Formerly The Villages SC, Florida)
Redlands FC (California)
South Carolina United (South Carolina)
Des Moines Menace (Iowa)
Western Mass Pioneers (Massachusetts)
Vermont Green FC (Vermont)
Hudson Valley Hammers (New York)

2024 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule

First Round                 Tuesday, March 19 - Thursday, March 21            
Second Round            Tuesday, April 2 - Wednesday, April 3                 
Third Round                Tuesday, April 16 - Wednesday, April 17             
Round of 32                 Tuesday, May 7 - Wednesday, May 8                   
Round of 16                 Tuesday, May 21 - Wednesday, May 22               
Quarterfinal                Tuesday, July 9 - Wednesday, July 10                  
Semifinal                     Tuesday, Aug. 27 - Wednesday, Aug. 28             
Final                              Wednesday, Sept. 25

Go Deeper